Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Why would the Mage advance? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian @BoardGameMonster
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new at this and only played apprentice mode twice (with two different people).

The second time, my opponent (who I was hoping was going to love the game and become a frequent duelling companion) dismissed the game and said "Why would the Mage ever advance? It's better to sit back and keep summoning/casting. If you move you lose a (slow cast) summon so you're then going to be behind in the arms race. It's also going to be better to hang back so you don't get damaged."

I didn't know enough about the game to give him a good answer and now I fear he'll never want to play again.

In the full game I know there are zone-exclusives which might be able to tempt him to move so he can 'build' them in a new zone. But is this how I should expect games to play out in future?

Both Mages hanging back and summoning (all) their creatures before then (perhaps) finally advancing?

Or is there a reason why this is a terrible strategy and it's better to be more aggressive?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Bielefeld
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you play against a Priestess, Wizard or Warlord and stay in your corner (=not putting pressure on your opponent) you will lose the game in most cases once they have established their temple/mana-denial/Outpost-Strategies.

Next time your friend sits in his corner and casts mana crystals etc, run to him, cast the Big Fire Demon, next turn Bear strength and teleport/force push the demon into his corner. After this experience he will think twice about sitting in the back...

So far, hyper-aggro strategies are more successfull than turtling (and easier to pull off).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
trevor

Missouri
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb