Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Pax Porfiriana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you sell a Public Card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Gardner
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Checked the forums for this and didn't see an answer -- maybe it's a crazy or stupid question: Can you take the Sell Card action with a Public Card? --David
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Ricotta
United States
Virginia Beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess you could but WHY??
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The public card never goes into your hand, when you buy them you play them immediately.

from the rules
3. Buy Public Card = Purchase and put into play one of the two Public Cards, which are separate from the Market.
• A Public card is a Play­Immediately Card and never goes to your hand. You can buy a Public Card even if at your
Hand Limit (5­cards).

Since its not in your hand, you cant discard it to sell it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can sell cards in play.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorik
Netherlands
Utrecht
Utrecht
flag msg tools
badge
How sticky is your ZOC?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wulf Corbett wrote:
You can sell cards in play.


which is useful information on its ow but not really the answer now is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is a counter to Max's point. The answer was already given - yes, you can sell Public cards, there's nothing to say you cannot, the rules say you may sell a card from your Hand or In Play. While Public cards never go into your Hand, they certainly do go In Play (as defined in the glossary), so can be sold.

At a horrific loss, mind you...
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aditya C
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is relevant in context. If you buy a Public Card, it goes in play in front of you. This means that it can be sold since it is in play in front of you. But if you do it, it must have been due to a catastrophic miscalculation on your part.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul M
United States
Elkhart
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
If you must buy a Public Card to keep an opponent from buying it and winning the game and you don't want to keep it, then sure. I've not played the game much, but I can see how you could buy the card to play it, sell it, and "undo" its effect with your three actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Jones
Scotland
Kilmacolm
Inverclyde
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Caibre wrote:
But if you do it, it must have been due to a catastrophic miscalculation on your part.


I beg to differ. In the game I've just finished the fourth topple card was in the market at 16. My opponent virtually cleared his display to ensure he had the money to win because it looked like neither of us had sufficient prestige for a win in Revolution (Anarchy was the regime). Earlier I'd bought Roosevelt for the Outrage but there was nothing in the market to change the regime so for me it was a loss maker. Discarding was the best option in this case.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Moore
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
So the answer seems to be Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Rogers
United States
Yakima
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.
Avatar
mb
If you sell a public card, does it discard like normal or does it become available again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sold cards are discarded so, no, it does not become available again.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Rogers
United States
Yakima
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.
Avatar
mb
That's how we played it. Just checking.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.