Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: The Card Game – Escape from Hoth» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aggression timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
goobar goobar
msg tools
Hi everyone! What's the proper timing of Aggression event card? The card text says
Quote:
Action: Each player must sacrifice a unit, if able
For better understanding consider this example: the ds player has only Executor on the table and the ls player has at least one unit. Now, ds player plays Aggresion, so each player must sacrifice a unit. Does sacrifice happen at the same time? If yes, then players must make some sort of agreement they will make their sacrifices independently, which is quite strange. If sacrifice doesn't happen at the same time, then which player sacrifices his/her unit first? Timing is crucial because if the ls player sacrifices unit first, then Executor reaction can trigger and deal 1 damage to either unit or objective. Otherwise, Executor must be sacrificed first and there is no time to trigger its reaction.

I would be grateful for your answers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
- Saturnine -
Germany
flag msg tools
From the FAQ:

Quote:
(2.2) Priority of Simultaneous Resolution
If a single effect affects multiple players simultaneously, but the players must individually make choices to resolve the effect, the player who played or executed the effect chooses first, with priority then proceeding clockwise around the table.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
goobar goobar
msg tools
Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Lernout
Canada
Kitchener
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More on Executor + Aggression timing...

If the DS intends to react to the sacrifices with Executor, which of the following is the timing?

1) DS chooses and sacrifices
2) DS deals one damage
3) LS chooses and sacrifices
4) DS deals one damage

OR

1) DS chooses and sacrifices
2) LS chooses and sacrifices
3) DS deals two instances of one damage
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ville Halonen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I´d say it is the latter. While the effect resolves simultaneously for both players, the choice, if any, is done in a sequential manner. I´d assume this is done, because there is no practical way to arrange simultaneous choosing other than picking up all your units and then secretly choosing one and revealing them both at the same time. But then you´d have to remember the token and other game states of those units... So to simplify the process the choice is done sequentially.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This has been answered by FFG (as found on cardgamedb) previously, as follows:

Question: Could you explain the timing for Aggression and how it interacts with Executor

Reply:
Here's how it would work:

1) Aggression is played.

2) Each player now has to choose a unit to sacrifice.

This invokes: 2.2: "If a single effect affects multiple players simultaneously, but the players must individually make choices to resolve the effect, the player who played or executed the effect chooses first, with priority then proceeding clockwise around the table."

So the dark side player, who played the effect, chooses who he will sacrifice first. Note that he is only choosing at this time -- the unit he chooses is not sacrificed yet.

3) After the dark side player has made his choice, the light side player chooses who he will sacrifice. Note that he is only choosing at this time -- the unit he chooses is not sacrificed yet.

4) Once all players have chosen who they will be sacrificing, the effect resolves, and all chosen units are sacrificed simultaneously.

5) The Executor may now trigger its reaction once for each sacrificed unit. It must resolve the first of these two reactions in full before initiating the second. (So it's basically: "Trigger in reaction to one unit being sacrificed, go through entire resolution, then trigger in reaction to other unit being sacrificed, and go through entire resolution.")


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.