Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

1775: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Betsy Ross Event Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Marshall
United States
Abingdon
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Patriot Militia has an event card named Betsy Ross.

The event's effect:
"All Loyalists (yellow cubes) that flee in all battles this turn are replaced with Patriots (white cubes) which stay in the battle".

When this happens (i.e., yellow dice shows flee), does the corresponding yellow cube go to the Fled Units area (with a new white cube entering the battle)? I thought that it does go to the Fled Unit area, but another player interpreted it to mean the yellow flee result simply means that the yellow cube is replaced by a white cube so the yellow does not go to the Fled Unit area (it would come off the board back to the yellow cube supply off the board).

Since I can see both interpretations, I'm looking for an official ruling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon M
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
“Games give you a chance to excel, and if you're playing in good company you don't even mind if you lose because you had the enjoyment of the company during the course of the game.” ― Gary Gygax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I will sit back and wait for an official ruling as well, but we play that they go to the fled area.

I think the difference is in saying "are replaced by" as opposed to "are instead replaced by".

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ty Snouffer
United States
Downers Grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The explanation in the rulebook says the loyalists are "removed from the battle." To me, that doen't mean flee.

So I could see it either way. Just enough wiggle room on both sides.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeph Stahl
Canada
Grimsby
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.thebrickbrewery.com
badge
www.thebrickbrewery.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The yellow cubes that are affected by flee roll results are replaced by white cubes and stay in the battle.

They do not move the the fled area.
11 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Marshall
United States
Abingdon
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Jeph! Great game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another example of this great rules set saying exactly what it means.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What if the British roll, say, 2 hits and 2 militia flees against a single American cube? Does the battle stop after the hits? Do the Americans get both turned cubes, or is one turned cube assumed to be a casualty because there were more hits than targets originally?

You know it is going to happen eventually...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules (and designer) say that the entire die roll is carried out. You don't cancel out the effects because of a kill.

And with simultaneous die roll results, my guess on the outcome of this die roll is that the American cube that was present is removed, the 2nd hit is wasted, and the 2 fled results turn into 2 white cubes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeph Stahl
Canada
Grimsby
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.thebrickbrewery.com
badge
www.thebrickbrewery.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alex,
Kevin is correct.
The one white cube will be killed and the 2 militia will see this catastrophe and turn on their once allies and become white american militia.
The american will then continue to roll with the two converted units.
Jeph
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Severus Snape
Canada
flag msg tools
Pascal said, "The eternal silence of these infinite spaces terrifies me."
badge
"The heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of."--Pascal
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Another example of this great rules set saying exactly what it means.


This is the funniest thing I have read on BGG in a coon's age. And I say what I mean, and mean what I say. Exactly.

goo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bentlarsen wrote:
Quote:
Another example of this great rules set saying exactly what it means.


This is the funniest thing I have read on BGG in a coon's age. And I say what I mean, and mean what I say. Exactly.

goo


You should get out more. Really. And take a hot shower! goo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Makes sense, but doesn't this effectively mean that Flee and Hit are not resolved simultaneously, but rather that the dice resolution order is Hit, Flee, Command Decision?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Severus Snape
Canada
flag msg tools
Pascal said, "The eternal silence of these infinite spaces terrifies me."
badge
"The heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of."--Pascal
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sduke wrote:
bentlarsen wrote:
Quote:
Another example of this great rules set saying exactly what it means.


This is the funniest thing I have read on BGG in a coon's age. And I say what I mean, and mean what I say. Exactly.

goo


You should get out more. Really. And take a hot shower! goo


I would, except you took all the hot water. And to top it off, you went out and then showered. For shame. Tsk, tsk, tsk.

goo

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Vaeth
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
another situation just came up with Betsy Ross. yellow flee results on a roll but no available white cubes in the supply pile. we interpreted it to mean that the yellows still leave the board (return to the supply pile). they're just not replaced by whites. official ruling on this, please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeph Stahl
Canada
Grimsby
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.thebrickbrewery.com
badge
www.thebrickbrewery.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sounds like you handled it correctly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My guess would be that you could take them from the Fled Units space (there is a precedent for this in 1812, where there is a card to switch militia -- I think the designers answered about this on BGG).

If you don't have anything/enough in Fled, though, I'm not sure.

Also, you seriously ran out of Militia in a Birth of America series game? I've played 20 times and that never happened. I've run out of Regulars, but never militia. Are you playing incredibly cautiously??

** Oops -- ninja'd by Jeph! Jeph, am I right about the Fled bit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.