GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,178 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cylon attack used by Cylon player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Seagal
Poland
flag msg tools
We had a little argument on our last session.

One of the Cylons activated Caprica and drew 2 crisis cards. He chose Cylon attack and some of us argued that ship activations on this crisis dont work.

In my opinion they do because:
1) Caprica says that you skip Ship activation phase.
2) Cylon attack crisis activates ships in crisis phase, not ship activation phase.

Am i right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander DeSouza
Netherlands
flag msg tools
In the clause "No Activate Cylon Ships or Prepare for Jump steps," it is the word "steps" that is crucial, as it references the procedural nature in which Crisis Cards unfold: 1) you resolve the Skill Check (or Player Choice, or what-have-you) step, 2) you then resolve the Activate Cylon Ships step, as indicated by the icon in the lower left of the card, 3) and then you then resolve the Prepare for Jump step.

Cylon Attack Crises, like all other Crises still follow through all of these steps, but because there are no icons in the lower left and right of the card, resolution of steps 2 and 3 involves doing nothing. Everything else on those cards falls under step 1 and thus must occur.

Players sometimes forget the linearity of this procedure, but it's important to remember it is there, because it isn't infrequent that a successful resolution of step 1, might save you from what otherwise could be a disastrous Step 2. Or for the Cylons, a failure in step 1, or a severe attack during step 2, defeats the humans when they thought they could have jumped away during step 3.

In summary, as Mindy stated, yes
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JasX X
United Kingdom
London, UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
bobbymcferrin wrote:
In the clause "No Activate Cylon Ships or Prepare for Jump steps," it is the word "steps" that is crucial, as it references the procedural nature in which Crisis Cards unfold: 1) you resolve the Skill Check (or Player Choice, or what-have-you) step, 2) you then resolve the Activate Cylon Ships step, as indicated by the icon in the lower left of the card, 3) and then you then resolve the Prepare for Jump step.


of course the other way you can skip steps 2 and 3 is that resolving an execution of the current player ends their turn immdiately so if you can execute them during step 1 of a crisis card steps 2 and 3 won't happen.

However executing a revealed cylon is very hard to do (might be possible if you can somehow get a mid crisis action on new caprica)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.