Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
28 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Blueprints» Forums » General

Subject: Questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
I was on the Blueprints website reading the game contents list, and noticed that there are only 12 prize cards. Does this mean that only one person can win that prize per round? Like with the award cards, what happens in the case of a tie? Are points split, like with Sushi Go!, or are tied players eliminated, as with Las Vegas?

Also, how does a round end? If no one is actually attempting to complete their blueprint, do you continue taking dice until the bag is empty?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Tourigny
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Each Prize and Award is given ONCE per round.
2) In case of a tie, the player with the most In-Demand Materials (there are two types each round) gets the Prize/Award.
3) Each building uses 6 dice, at most. Once all players have drafted 6 dice, the round ends.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Neat - thanks! I'm hoping to snag a copy at Essen, but have preordered a copy also, just to make sure I get one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are the glass dice translucent?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
scifiantihero wrote:
Are the glass dice translucent?


That'd be neat!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
If you watch their Essen Preview video, the glass dice appear to be translucent...



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ohh sweet thanks for the link!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabi Games
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can a situation arise in which you end up waiting for a specific die roll, and if you don't roll it your turn was a waste and you have to wait untill your next turn and then the exact same thing happens?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
GabiGames wrote:
Can a situation arise in which you end up waiting for a specific die roll, and if you don't roll it your turn was a waste and you have to wait untill your next turn and then the exact same thing happens?


You pick from the materials pool before you roll a new die and you build with what is available, so no turn is wasted. If you cannot build your blueprint due to what is available, you build in a different configuration. The only restriction is that you can only build on the available blueprint squares.

I'm sure there will be times where building something other than the planned blueprint will be more beneficial. I look forward to finding out.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabi Games
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx,I will preorder tonight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Cool. I've also preordered. I'm sure Yves will be pleased...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Tourigny
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brad has the right answer: you build with what's available, so make sure your plan is flexible enough to accommodate the unforeseen. Based on the initial pool, a good strategy is sometimes to try to figure out which dice others are unlikely to want, and plan to use those effectively.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry TITI
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hello,
what mean "if you can not legitimately place a die, it is removed from play"
That means the player is removed of the play ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thierry17400 wrote:
Hello,
what mean "if you can not legitimately place a die, it is removed from play"
That means a player is removed of the play ?


Sounds like the die is removed from play. Not the player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry TITI
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In this case what die ? There are several dice and all dice are not playable...
What happens if a player can't place a die ? He's removed of the play, he passes ?
It's not written in the rules
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Tourigny
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Thierry,

The sentence is ambiguous, but the idea is as follows:

If there are no dice you can place, take one and remove it from play. This would constitute "passing", in effect.

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry TITI
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
OK thanks Yves,
In this case, the player who passed can come back in the round if a new die is playable (dice rolled in future turns in the same round)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Tourigny
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, precisely.

To be clear:
- A player who cannot place _ANY_ of the available dice must choose one and discard it.
- A player cannot put a die aside and place it later.
- I cannot think of a reason to do so, but a player could decide to discard a die he _could_ place but does not _want_ to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry TITI
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
No, I wanted to say, can he come back after passing and discard a die,
with a die rolled by another player suitable with his construction, not with a die put aside by himselm.
He can come back in the same round after a previous passing?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Tourigny
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes he can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thierry TITI
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks a lot Yves
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lisa
Germany
Losheim am See
Saarland
flag msg tools
We love Blueprints. But we have 2 questions:

- The price card for a building with the height of 5. How can I build this? I think, that the highest building on a card is 3 floors high.

- And the stone dices get points for first, second, third,...floor. But how can I get 8 points for the fourth or fifth floor?

Thanks a lot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad McKenzie
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
You do not need to follow the blueprint if you do not want to. The only rule is that you can only build in the available spaces.

If you want, you can ignore your blueprint and build all of your dice in a single stack. If you get the right numbers and materials, it could be very valuable.

I'm glad you like the game - I am still waiting for my copy to arrive...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Tourigny
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Brad is right, once again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lisa
Germany
Losheim am See
Saarland
flag msg tools
Thanks a lot Brad. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.