Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Made in a lab. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack
South Africa
Cape Town
Western Cape
flag msg tools
"No single raindrop believes it is to blame for the flood."
badge
Small talk (noun): insincere questions and dishonest answers.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2, keep.
"When purchasing cards you can peek at and purchase the top card of the deck."

Does it mean:

A) you have to buy at least 1 visible card ("When purchasing"), place a card from the deck face up to replace the empty spot, and can then "peek at and purchase" if you want, "the top card of the deck",

B) "you can peek at and purchase" if you want, "the top card of the deck" on your turn,

C) "you can peek at and purchase" if you want, "the top card of the deck" on your turn, and must then buy either it or a face up card, or

D) something else?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
B. Basically you get a fourth card option. "When purchasing cards" refers to the game phase where you have the option to buy cards.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
South Africa
Cape Town
Western Cape
flag msg tools
"No single raindrop believes it is to blame for the flood."
badge
Small talk (noun): insincere questions and dishonest answers.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ras2124 wrote:
"When purchasing cards" refers to the game phase where you have the option to buy cards.


But if you're not purchasing cards, surely it's not "When purchasing cards"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance Codarin
Italy
Udine
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i simply read it that it offers you to purchase a second card: so basically first you purchase a card replenish the pool and then peek at the top card and purchas eit if you can afford it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Marvosh
United States
Boise
ID
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Darklaw90 wrote:
i simply read it that it offers you to purchase a second card: so basically first you purchase a card replenish the pool and then peek at the top card and purchas eit if you can afford it


You can always purchase more than one card. This ability simply gives you, in essence, a 'fourth card slot' so you have one more option than the rest of the players (and they don't even get to see this one, unless you buy it, of course).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Nerman
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ras2124 wrote:
B. Basically you get a fourth card option. "When purchasing cards" refers to the game phase where you have the option to buy cards.

I believe this is what the card does, although now that you mention it, it is poorly worded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Brissaud
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IamJacksUsername wrote:
2, keep.
"When purchasing cards you can peek at and purchase the top card of the deck."

Does it mean:

A) you have to buy at least 1 visible card ("When purchasing"), place a card from the deck face up to replace the empty spot, and can then "peek at and purchase" if you want, "the top card of the deck",

B) "you can peek at and purchase" if you want, "the top card of the deck" on your turn,

C) "you can peek at and purchase" if you want, "the top card of the deck" on your turn, and must then buy either it or a face up card, or

D) something else?


B.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gamer D

Monroeville
Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IamJacksUsername wrote:
ras2124 wrote:
"When purchasing cards" refers to the game phase where you have the option to buy cards.


But if you're not purchasing cards, surely it's not "When purchasing cards"?


It's just referring to the purchasing cards phase of your turn. When you're in the phase of your turn when you have the option to purchase cards then you can look at the top card and, if you like it, purchase it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura Gerard
United States
Pearland
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My copy of Made in a Lab says (bold original, typos mine)
Quote:
During the Buy Power cards step, you can peek at the top card of the deck and buy it or put it back on top of the deck.


We took this to mean that you could do it on anyone's turn during the Buy Power cards step. Are you saying that you can only use this one your own turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cornixt
msg tools
badge
Cheap as chips
Avatar
mbmbmb
If it was intended to be used on other people's turns then that would have been specified. You can only buy cards on your own turn, so you can only use this special ability on your own turn.
5 
 Thumb up
10.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura Gerard
United States
Pearland
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's just it. As we see it, the card gives you 3 advantages. 1) Having a choice of 4 cards on your turn. 2) Some info you wouldn't otherwise have when you are deciding if you want spend energy to clear the cards and bring out new ones. And 3) opportunity to buy cards on other player's turns before others get a crack at them.

If it was intended that you can only do it on your turn then that should have been specified. That is a limitation and limitations should be specified. If it can be used on any turn then there is not limitation and nothing needs to be said, which is what they did. Although it may not be what they intended.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cornixt
msg tools
badge
Cheap as chips
Avatar
mbmbmb
That limitation already exists in the rules of the game, it hasn't been changed so it is still in effect.
3 
 Thumb up
10.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Merritt
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This card does not allow you to buy cards outside of your turn. Similarly, Parasitic Tentacles will not allow you to purchase another player's cards at any time, nor will Urbavore give you a point on someone else's turn just because you are in Tokyo at the start of it.

The rules as written need to be followed, the cards just tweak those a little bit. Think of the smallest change to the base rules that the card allows and that is usually going to be the right answer. Especially for a card that if I remember correctly only costs 2 energy. The way you want to play it is way too powerful for that.

If it were to be used the way you have been doing it, it would likely be worded as "During ANY Buy Power cards step...". Using "Your" rather than "the" would have been clearer, yes, but it should be assumed to mean during your turn because that requires the least amount of change to the base rules.
1 
 Thumb up
10.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.