Subject: Questions from a new player... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steeve Beaupre
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I started playing this game recently and wanted to know:

When encountering any ice that allows clicks to break subroutines, does that change the usual way to break subroutines (via icebreakers)?

I see the term facechecking a lot on these forums (along with other lingo) and I wanted to make sure I understand. Facechecking = running just to see what the ice is then jacking out (or dealing with subroutines in the case of the outermost ice)?

Any other important terminology I should know?

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Frank
United States
Brooklyn
NY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
asidwolf wrote:

When encountering any ice that allows clicks to break subroutines, does that change the usual way to break subroutines (via icebreakers)?

I don't know what you mean by "does that change the usual way." The point of the click-breaks is that, as an alternative to using icebreakers to break subroutines, you can spend clicks, if you have them left in your turn of course.

Quote:
I see the term facechecking a lot on these forums (along with other lingo) and I wanted to make sure I understand. Facechecking = running just to see what the ice is then jacking out (or dealing with subroutines in the case of the outermost ice)?

Facechecking is, in effect, running blind, and without icebreakers. It's a calculated risk on the runner's part--does the Corp have money to rez hurting ice, or will the corp let the run go? Depends who you're playing (both what corp and what you know of the player).

Quote:
Any other important terminology I should know?

Thanks!

Oh, lots. Meta, the ongoing click-credit exchange rate...I'm not sure we can list it. Just hang around here while and you'll soak it up.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steeve Beaupre
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls