Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gator Skin
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
About to start a full campaign game of this. I'm relatively new to wargaming -- and not knowledgeable about Market Garden -- but I'd like to at least put a fight as the Allies. Since we won't be playing the historical drop zones, I wonder: Are there any generally agreed upon superior drop zones? I'm too unfamiliar with the conflict to figure it out from the map alone.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Stearns
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Historical reflection on 1st Abn was that, besides the obvious of landing on top of a panzer division, they landed too far from Arnhem and the bridge. Finding a dropzone closer to the objective. Possibly even near the designated Polish DZ and then rushing to grab multiple crossings and hold with whole Div in good defensive terrain. Also acts to block reinforcement of Nijemegan. 82nd DZ is okay, but they need to abandon the Dz's near Groesbeck and move everything to Nijemegan ASAP. 101st is okay too unless you want to drop in open area immediately east of Eindhoven. It's a fun game. Good luck.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
gatorskin wrote:
About to start a full campaign game of this. I'm relatively new to wargaming -- and not knowledgeable about Market Garden -- but I'd like to at least put a fight as the Allies. Since we won't be playing the historical drop zones, I wonder: Are there any generally agreed upon superior drop zones? I'm too unfamiliar with the conflict to figure it out from the map alone.

Thanks!

Look at the map from a defensive stand point. Where could you hold the longest and be of most value to the other formations? The Paras dont need to 'OWN' Arhnem, they just need to provide a bridge head to allow 30XXX to cross.