Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

(Your Name Here) and the Argonauts» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Some questions on a novel and intriguing game ... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Edelberg
United States
Saranac Lake
New York
flag msg tools

{Ooops -- my apologies. Owing to some unfamiliarity with BGG this post has landed in the Strategy Forum, and not the Rules forum that was its intended repository.}

Surprisingly, this is rather an ingenious game, deserving of higher attention than far too many sharing its small-scale dimensions. The artwork is stunning. Rules and mechanics are not many, though they demand study in order to understand how game occurrences trigger other occurrences (which in turn establish how the campaign is to be waged).

(As a note, this study or"learning curve" may daunt some prospective players. Perhaps even the game's name proves uninviting, to the point that the simpler "Jason and the Argonauts" -- or even "Joe and the Argonauts" -- might better have served.)

Yet with that, some questions:

Q: The rules regarding Combat say, "If a card says that you may ignore it, do not roll for it, but instead place it in the discard pile." This seems a misstatement (correctable to "If a card says that you may ignore it and you choose to ignore it, ...")

Q: The rules regarding crew losses inflicted by monsters say, "These fatalities may come from anywhere and are chosen by the player." Yet this allows that a player might first fight and defeat Monster A, then fight and lose to Monster B, and then extract losses exceeding the crewmen battling Monster B not from the crewmen assigned to, say, a third Monster C, but from crewmen who have already fought Monster A.

This seems gimmicky, and almost permitting of a player to "cheat". Is it not largely correctable to require that crew losses come firstly from crew battling the victorious Monster, next from crew seeing no action in the current combat phase, and only lastly from crew having already seen action in that phase?

Q: The rules describing Heroic Deeds state "Note that some rewards require more than one Heroic Deed to unlock." What reward can that be? I find no card requiring the possession of more than one Heroic Deed for its acquisition. (Though it is true that a certain Monster can enter the Adventure Deck only after another specific Monster has entered it. Can that be what the rules suggest?)

Q: The text on the Mirrored Shield card states "You may ignore the effects printed on Monster Cards." Are these "effects" strictly those textual effects printed below the Deadliness line on (most) Monster Cards, or do they also embrace the numerical Deadliness value itself?

Q: The text on the Scylla card begins "Before Combat, you may ignore this card. ...". Does this mean strictly before battling Scylla itself, or does it more generally mean before battling any Monster on the play field?

Thank you Mike (or anyone who can assist with these questions).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Arlington

Orlando
Florida
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edelberg wrote:
Surprisingly, this is rather an ingenious game, deserving of higher attention than far too many sharing its small-scale dimensions. The artwork is stunning. Rules and mechanics are not many, though they demand study in order to understand how game occurrences trigger other occurrences (which in turn establish how the campaign is to be waged).

Thanks for the high praise! I especially appreciate the compliments on the art! I like to draw as a hobby and my results usually turn out less then perfect, so it's great to hear. (Though the 'window' images are all Creative Commons that I cannot take credit for.)

Let me get to your questions!

edelberg wrote:
Q: The rules regarding Combat say, "If a card says that you may ignore it, do not roll for it, but instead place it in the discard pile." This seems a misstatement (correctable to "If a card says that you may ignore it and you choose to ignore it, ...")

Yes, now that you point that out, the wording is not exactly correct on that. As you had guessed, if you MAY ignore it, you don't have to. This would be important in the case of cards like the Hydra (where you may want to fight it for the additional deed) or the Cerberus (if you want to fight it to get closer to ADDing the Helm of Hades).

edelberg wrote:
Q: The rules regarding crew losses inflicted by monsters say, "These fatalities may come from anywhere and are chosen by the player." Yet this allows that a player might first fight and defeat Monster A, then fight and lose to Monster B, and then extract losses exceeding the crewmen battling Monster B not from the crewmen assigned to, say, a third Monster C, but from crewmen who have already fought Monster A.

This seems gimicky, and almost permitting of a player to "cheat". Is it not largely correctable to require that crew losses come firstly from crew battling the victorious Monster, next from crew seeing no action in the current combat phase, and only lastly from crew having already seen action in that phase?

I had felt the game was already pretty punishing to the point that it was unnecessary for something like this. Since you point it out, and after thinking about it, it certainly would change the dynamics of the game as well as increase the drama on the individual rolls. It would be an interesting change, to be sure. Maybe it could be added to the rules as a "Hard" mode?

edelberg wrote:
Q: The rules describing Heroic Deeds state "Note that some rewards require more than one Heroic Deed to unlock." What reward can that be? I find no card requiring the possession of more than one Heroic Deed for its acquisition. (Though it is true that a certain Monster can enter the Adventure Deck only after another specific Monster has entered it. Can that be what the rules suggest?)

The rewards that require more than one heroic deed are the ones with multiple check boxes on their same line. This possibly could have been made more clear in the rules.
For reference they are:
The second and third +1 Crew reward
Aegis of Zeus
Apollo's Bow
Ambrosia
Daedalus' Wings

edelberg wrote:
Q: The text on the Mirrored Shield card states "You may ignore the effects printed on Monster Cards." Are these "effects" strictly those textual effects printed below the Deadliness line on (most) Monster Cards, or do they also embrace the numerical Deadliness value itself?

The Mirrored Shield only refers to the textual effects. The difficulty and deadliness are unchanged.

edelberg wrote:
Q: The text on the Scylla card begins "Before Combat, you may ignore this card. ...". Does this mean strictly before battling Scylla itself, or does it more generally mean before battling any Monster on the play field?

This is done before the entire combat phase which means that it can possibly cripple your other combat attempts this round. Charybdis is treated the same way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.