Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can FP dead units be used to break down elite units? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Meyers
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Can FP dead units be used to break down alive elite units?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, as long as they belong to the same Nation.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Poulter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
Top of page 30 right-hand side:

When replacing one Elite unit with a Regular one, the Regular unit can be taken from the previous casualties (if any). Otherwise....
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
birchbeer
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GamesJart wrote:
Yes.
Top of page 30 right-hand side:

When replacing one Elite unit with a Regular one, the Regular unit can be taken from the previous casualties (if any). Otherwise....


Right. But I have never understood why the Dead Men of Dunharrow card does not allow you to muster units from the dead pile, which is important for taking control of the region after Aragorn/Strider expels the Shadow army. If Gondor is out of units then the Shadow keeps control, which doesn't make sense thematically. The card allows you to muster 3 units into the region, but if Gondor is completely depleted then at the very least you should be able to muster one unit from the dead pile. Think of it is conscription from the locals. I would hope the 'returning king' could manage that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.