Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Ardennes '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cavalry in IP (Extended example of play) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
killy9999
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 34 in K attacker gets D1 against 1-step cavalry unit in IP. Then the rulebook says:

Quote:
Since cavalry squadron is in an IP it may not use its special ability and so is eliminated.


What special ability? I looked in the rulebook for any special rules concerning cavalry but found nothing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael McCalpin
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The trick is in knowing that "recon" equals "cavalry" in this rulebook.

Quote:
21.4 Recon Units Special Ability
> Recon Units defending alone in a hex without an Improved Position may treat all D1 and D1* results against them as a DR4 result.
NOTE: A Recon Unit that retreats 4 hexes as a result of a D1* result can be attacked again by the Breakthrough Group.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
killy9999
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pratik Multani
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Note the the 3rd edition rules removed the phrase "without an Improved Position" so now the example of play might yield a different outcome with the Cav unit retreating instead of being eliminated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.