Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

War of the Suns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Confused myself rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb

Hi Leonard,

first of all - great game I'm loving it

I have managed to confuse myself however.

Can units of the VA and NE Cliques be put under full command by Central Army HQs ?

I assumed not because they are separate cliques but have now managed to muddle my brain up and am now not so sure

Thanks in advance
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VA are assimilated cliques so they should be under full command. I think (top of my head) NE clique is assimilated too unless using an optional rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Thanks Wendell.

Do you know if this is mentioned in the rules anywhere ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Command Capabilities Table (p 13) shows Central Army KMT HQs and Assimilated clique HQs both having full command over (non-rival) Central Army and assimilated cliques.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Hi Wendell,

yep - I know the table.

Where I got confused was that the Faction/Clique list in the playbook has the Central Army Faction and the NE and VA Cliques as seperate items and doesn't seem to mention that they are part of the Central Army Faction (although it's alluded to in notes on those two factions)

No biggie - I'll carry on playing it as you said - thanks again

Ross
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ross99 wrote:
Hi Wendell,

yep - I know the table.

Where I got confused was that the Faction/Clique list in the playbook has the Central Army Faction and the NE and VA Cliques as seperate items and doesn't seem to mention that they are part of the Central Army Faction (although it's alluded to in notes on those two factions)

No biggie - I'll carry on playing it as you said - thanks again

Ross


The NE I admit is a bit murky to me. But the fact that it has no HQs and has no place on the chart for tracking the alignment of various factions made me think it was assimilated. The "A" in "VA" standing for "assimilated" I think puts me on pretty firm ground that they are assimilated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edmond
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
NE clique is not listed on table but we played it as an assimilated clique.

It's historical base was Mandchouria conquered by the Japanese in 1931.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ross Mortell
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
wifwendell wrote:


The NE I admit is a bit murky to me. But the fact that it has no HQs and has no place on the chart for tracking the alignment of various factions made me think it was assimilated. The "A" in "VA" standing for "assimilated" I think puts me on pretty firm ground that they are assimilated!


VA = Various Assimilated

Doh ! - of course - I was reading it as VArious.

I think that we have found the cause of my stupidity - at least on this occasion shake

thanks guys

Ross
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.