Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Initiative question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert P
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the initiative rule regarding two captains with the same skill correct (moves first and fires first) or a typo??
Shouldn't it be moves second, fires first?
Is there a FAQ?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Grazier
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
Check out my boardgame demoing website! www.geek-craft.com
badge
Near northeast Ohio? Come to one of my game nights! www.geek-craft.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Plattenhelge wrote:
Is the initiative rule regarding two captains with the same skill correct (moves first and fires first) or a typo??
Shouldn't it be moves second, fires first?
Is there a FAQ?

Thanks!


There is an FAQ thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cap'n Ginger
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
I'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The initiative rule is not a typo; "initiative" in ST:AW is not like initiative in an RPG and does not confer an advantage in all things.

The player with initiative moves first (disadvantage) and fires first (advantage) because initiative is a tiebreaker when captains have the same skill. As stated in the FAQ linked above, "any defeated Captains or Crew may fire back before being discarded as per the Simultaneous Attack Rule."

Otherwise, some factions would always be at a disadvantage against certain other factions, and that would be wicked unfair.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.