Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Völuspá» Forums » Rules

Subject: do you score if you a dominate row but not column? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vali Lean
United States
Sacramento
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules there was an example of playing Thor at the intersection of a row and column, resulting in a horizontal row of 3 tiles and a vertical column of 3 tiles. Thor being the highest value (7) in both the row and the column, scores 6 points.

But say the horizontal row had an Odin (value 8) in it...

Would playing Thor still score 3 points for being the highest value in the column? Or would he score no points at all?

ie, in order to score, do you have to have played the highest value tile in BOTH the row AND column?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandru Stanuta
Romania
Berceni
ILFOV
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From rules (emphasis mine):
rules wrote:
If the tile you placed during this turn has the highest value in a row and/or column you’ll score points for that row and/or column
.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Buonocore
United States
BOYNTON BEACH
FL
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alex1326 wrote:
From rules (emphasis mine):
rules wrote:
If the tile you placed during this turn has the highest value in a row and/or column you’ll score points for that row and/or column
.


Yes, this is addressed directly in the rules with the "and/or":

1. You score for the ROW (if you are the highest) AND/OR
2. You score for the COLUMN (if you are the highest).

Naturally, you try to score in both directions, but... this is not always possible. Oh those pesky Fenrir packs do get in the way sometimes...


Thanks,
Stephen M. Buonocore
Stronghold Games LLC
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vali Lean
United States
Sacramento
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

I started to convince myself that 'and/or' meant "if applicable". As in...

If the tile you placed during this turn has the highest value in a row, or column, or (if applicable) row AND column, you’ll score points for that row, or column, or (if applicable) row AND column.

But yes, it makes more sense reading it the more sensible way!

Thanks again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karsten
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alex1326 wrote:
From rules (emphasis mine):
rules wrote:
If the tile you placed during this turn has the highest value in a row and/or column you’ll score points for that row and/or column
.

Or in other words, you attempt to dominate and thus score them separately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.