Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo Tutorial questions and errata rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rodi de Boer
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am playing the solo tutorial at the moment and got to the first Propaganda card. Although it lacks the thoughts of the playing faction, it really really really helps understanding all the things that go on with the bots. Great job.

I do have some questions about what the player does:
Card 2, page 18: 26July (player) Why not rally also in Camaguey province and Oriente?

And some (minor) errors at Card 7 (Propaganda) on page 20:
-Resources phase; Syndicate uses Cash for new Open Casinos.; it says Pinar, but it should be La Habana where the cash marker was; image on page 21 has the casino correctly placed.
-Support; Civic Action of 26July has Opp+Bases go to 6, but should be 7; After Agitate the number is corrected.
-Agitate; Resources go from 5 to 2 (it says 6 to 3); We have just seen that M26 resource were at 5. I think this will be correct during the next few cards (skimmed through the pages, not sure)
-Redeploy; first paragraph omits Matanzas for Troops that must relocate; third paragraph corrects this, as does the image on p21.

Not too big of a deal, but it can be confusing.
5 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Rodi, thanks, I think you're right on each of those corrections. I will add those to thePlaybook errata.

As to what the player does what he does, the example is by developer Oerjan Ariander, and the play decisions were his. My guess is that he was conserving 26July Resources, but I don't know for sure.

Regards, Volko
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodi de Boer
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got to play another couple of turns in the solo tutorial and think I found another error, but this time I think it could be messing up the play after this (although I haven't played further than this yet)

On page 20, at turn 13, the Government does a Garrison. It does not have enough cubes to do all cities (after the EC's), so it neglects Santiago.

Then it says to get a police each from Pinar and the two Camagueys. But Pinar only has one police, so it should not take that one.

There is a Troop that gets placed in Santiago, but I guess that one should have been placed in Havana to gain control there.

Even in the picture on page 20 (representing one or two cards later), you see that the not-existing police did not get placed in Havana, but that there aren't (weren't at the time) enough cubes in Havana to gain control, so the troop that moved to Santiago really should have gone there.

I hope this will not have an impact on further turns too much. But even if it does, this solo tutorial is a must to play through to understand all the robot moves. Thanks for delivering this.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Rodi, thanks. You are talking about turn 13 that is discussed on pages 23-24 and illustrated at the bottom of page 23. I will note in Errata that there were not enough Police in Pinar after the 26July Ambush to send one to Havana as the text describes. vfr
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodi de Boer
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Volko wrote:
Hi Rodi, thanks. You are talking about turn 13 that is discussed on pages 23-24 and illustrated at the bottom of page 23. I will note in Errata that there were not enough Police in Pinar after the 26July Ambush to send one to Havana as the text describes. vfr

You are correct. I cannot even get the page numbers right in a text as short as this. blush

Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rodi de Boer
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Got to the end of the solo tutorial and have some other errors (if I'm right):

At card 13 M26 get its second guerrilla in Pinar. But from that point on the images still show only one guerrilla there.
This also means that at the propaganda at the reset phase the syndicate will not gain control of Pinar when the casino opens up.

Card 17 propaganda:
- syndicate resources go up to 47 in my opinion. (15 + 10 (5 open casinos) + 24 (4 * 6 cash markers) - 2 (government skimming))

- expat backing. shouldn't DR place a base in Camaguey province? there is no space to gain control (first bullet), second bullet wants to place a base.

- redeploy. the text states that there are 9 in Havana and 5 in Santiago, but that is only after the redeploy of 2 from Havana (was 11) to Santiago (was 3).


It has been a good experience. It takes a lot of careful observation and reading and thinking to operate the bots correctly and I still don't know exactly what the best moves are for the player, but I am eager to play some on my own. Not sure if I will continue this game or start a new one (perhaps as the government).

Thank you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got 'em. Thanks Rodi!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrFixxiT wrote:

- expat backing. shouldn't DR place a base in Camaguey province? there is no space to gain control (first bullet), second bullet wants to place a base.


In page 26, picture shows Camarguey in Active Support...which isn't in picture page 24...and I can't explain this "new" support, as no Civic Action seems having been conducted here.

It may explain why Expat Backing has been proposed by tutorial in Oriente rather than in Camarguey, as it should be.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, Dampenon. See the Errata. Regards, Volko
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.