Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Happiness and Culture levels rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pierre Philippe Goyer
Canada
Verdun Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Looking for a Publisher for a Grand Strategic all fronts WW2 card game
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am stunned.

Even after some games, I noticed that the 2 levels (and their respective tokens) go up only when you BUY advances.
I searched the forum and did not find the clarification, even in the FAQ....

Does the levels go up when you GET an advance?
How about when you RECEIVE one during the Status phase?

I guess YES but that is not what the rules are saying...

Owll
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kayati
United States
Worthington
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have always treated the Advance you for "free" as a free Buy of the Advance.

So, the levels go up when you get that Advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alan beaumont
United Kingdom
LONDON
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Overthinking
owll wrote:
How about when you RECEIVE one during the Status phase?

It was bought for free. Case solved!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
You are right it just says "buy" on p.6!

However on p.11 where the Status Phase is explained, it tells you to take any events as they come, due to a recieved advance (as always).

And it must be the same for "getting" an advance. Otherwise you also shouldn't place a cube in that advance slot (as that is only done for advances you "buy" in the discription on p.7).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph
United States
Ewing
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Christmas Card Exchange: 2009 - 2014
badge
I play at EPGS on the 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month and if you live in Eastern PA, Western NJ or Northern DE ... you should too!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you read the rules for the free advance in the status phase, the second sentence says that if an event is triggered it is taken care of immediately. This tells me you move culture and happiness markers for status phase advances.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Philippe Goyer
Canada
Verdun Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Looking for a Publisher for a Grand Strategic all fronts WW2 card game
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Carsten...

That is the way we play it.
But on page 4, the 2 words BUY should get changed for GET.

Owll
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
owll wrote:
Thanks Carsten...

That is the way we play it.
But on page 4, the 2 words BUY should get changed for GET.

Owll


And on p.7 . Maybe "acquire" to encompas all (buy, get, recieve).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Philippe Goyer
Canada
Verdun Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Looking for a Publisher for a Grand Strategic all fronts WW2 card game
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Randor20 wrote:
owll wrote:
Thanks Carsten...

That is the way we play it.
But on page 4, the 2 words BUY should get changed for GET.

Owll


And on p.7 . Maybe "acquire" to encompas all (buy, get, recieve).


Yes.

Good game.

Owll
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Randor20 wrote:
owll wrote:
Thanks Carsten...

That is the way we play it.
But on page 4, the 2 words BUY should get changed for GET.

Owll


And on p.7 . Maybe "acquire" to encompas all (buy, get, recieve).


Indeed. When talking about rules, wording is really important, it's more a mathematical matter than linguistics... but it seems people who write/correct rules try to use synonyms and it's a very bad idea.

And that's even more true about translations where translator sometimes hardly knows the game he's translating, you can be sure the rules contain loads of synomyms (even if the original version doesn't contain any), bugs and other pleasures...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.