james zajicek
United States
PEORIA
AZ
flag msg tools
mb
Let's say US has PC in St.Mary's,GA ...and also Savannah

If the Brits discard a US event...can the US PC in St.Mary's be
removed (ie. is it considered adjacent to another Brit port?)

Definition of adjacent only seems to count the port/port connection for isolation only ??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Peacock
Canada
Montréal
quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under 10.11.B.ii
Important: For the British, all ports are considered to be adjacent to each other for all purposes regardless of the placement of the French Navy if present.

But

10.12.B

Important: The restriction that the PC being placed or removed be adjacent to a friendly PC applies to both sides in this case. That action may be to:
• place or flip one PC adjacent to a friendly PC subject to the additional restrictions for each side in itemized in Rule 10.11, or
• remove one enemy PC from a space which is adjacent to a space containing a friendly PC counter and that is not occupied by an enemy CU, an American General or the Continental Congress.

So, to place or flip, ports are considered adjacent (according to rule 10.11), but to remove, it doesn't refer you to that note, and the definition of adjacent only specifies ports for the purpose of isolation.

IMO, I'm afraid that to remove the PC, ports are not considered adjacent.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
PEORIA
AZ
flag msg tools
mb
i just found this on consimworld ...message 4793

When discarding an event card, the British may remove an American PC from any port that is not occupied by hostile CU, general or the Continental Congress


I think this contradicts what you say...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex N
United States
Metuchen
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a separate thread Lt. Colonel Simcoe that takes up this discussion, even though it is specific to the Lt. Colonel Simcoe card, where according to the game designer, the ports are not adjacent for this Event Card. This is the only exception and it should have been noted on the text of that card. A reprint will fix that.

Otherwise, one should consider British Ports to be always adjacent for all purposes provided that there are no occupancy restrictions in place.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.