GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,439 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mundus Novus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ponce de Leon - how does the card work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Hirschman
United States
flag msg tools
Ponce de Leon: "....enables the player to separate his caravels into two fleets. Each fleet is considered independently in terms of the order of choice of additional cards and for the Pirates event."

Could someone please explain to me how this card is used regarding "order of choice of additional cards" and "for the Pirates event." If you add examples and mention the advantages of using this card I would appreciate it.

I am still learning the rules for the game and have not yet played my first game. Sorry for my naivete but I often have found the rules pamphlet vague or incomplete. This card is one example.
Thanks.
Richard

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wyckyd
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Each players usually has only one fleet, and its total value determines the order in which players can pick up additional resource cards. If your opponent has 2 ships (a 4 and a 5) their fleet value is 9. If you also have 2 ships (2 and 8) your total value is 10. So, they get to choose two cards first.
But Ponce de Leon allows you to divide your ships into 2 fleets. You would have 2 fleets, with values 2 and 8. So you would get first pick, then your opponent would pick 2, and then you'd get to pick up your last one.
Sorry, messed up there: you would get first and second pick, your opponent would get the remaining two.

If you had a 2 and a 10, then Ponce would give you first pick (with your value 2 ship), your opponent would take 2 cards, and you would get the remaining one.

(read more about fleet formation in this thread)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wyckyd
Netherlands
Groningen