Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules question regarding Line of Sight rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Albertsen
United States
Onalaska
WI
flag msg tools
badge
Always stomped, never the stomper...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello! We just started our campaign last night (not using April errata) and I had one question come up.

Is Line of Sight ONLY a factor during combat? Does Avric Albright's heroic feat only heal heroes within 3 spaces of him, that are in proper line of sight?

Can the thief use the Greedy ability to search, even if she doesn't have line of sight to the search token?

Any other examples?

Thanks as always!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LOS is a factor when the rules state it's a factor. If Greedy says "search token within 3 spaces" but does not say, "search token within 3 spaces and in LOS", then no, LOS is not a factor.

The only exception to this is Doors. When a door is closed, the spaces on the opposite sides of doors are no longer adjacent. So abilities like Howl or Greedy cannot go through doors since the spaces simply are not adjacent (and thus not within X number of spaces).

-shnar
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Albertsen
United States
Onalaska
WI
flag msg tools
badge
Always stomped, never the stomper...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks I figured this was the case and so we played correctly!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to add the rules reference, for confirmation of shnar's answer (p. 13 of rulebook) :
Quote:
Counting spaces
Some abilities require players to count the spaces from a figure to the target of the ability. When counting spaces for attacks and abilities, players ignore any non-obstacle terrain in those spaces (see “Terrain” on
page 18). The player just needs to verify that his target is in range for the ability to reach the target. If an ability affects figures within a specified number of spaces, line of sight is not needed unless specifically noted. However, when counting spaces for an ability, players cannot count spaces through a door because the spaces are not considered adjacent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.