Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Boyd
United States
Evansville
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I hope someone can find some value in this thread. I don't want to just regurgitate what I've read here at BGG, but these are lessons I've really taken to heart while designing. I'm not a famous designer, I don't have anything published, and I don't claim to be an expert. These are just my musings, so take them for what they're worth.

I do feel like I've learned a lot since I started designing games. My first two games have been shelved for the time being to work on my current game, The Castle. The first game is more of a CCG, the second is only in the early development phase but will be a map exploration game, this one is more of a moody board game in line with other moody board games. The first game is pretty strong but needs some finesse, my current game has been more of an organic design and I really like where it's taking me as a designer. So lesson number one is:

1. Don't be afraid to move on. If you're stuck, in a rut, have designer's block–whatever the case may be–don't be afraid to move on to something that's really grabbing your interest. That doesn't mean that you should go from game to game creating hobbled messes that play like the bastard child of monopoly and solitaire, but it does mean that sometimes you have to let something sit before you can really appreciate the work you put into it. Set it free, if it comes back it was meant to... yadda yadda.

2. There is more to learn than you ever will. This one is a no-brainer for anyone not born of a goddess and gifted to the seven continents. You will not know everything and asking for advice is not a weakness.