Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Agents of SMERSH: Swagman's Hope» Forums » Rules

Subject: Failing a skill check in Australia rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 3 of the rulebook for Swagman's Hope, in the section titled "Encounters in Australia", it says:

"All skill checks in Australia are conducted using the base game rules. If the check is failed, advance Dr. Lobo's track by 1 space as normal unless the encounter states otherwise." (underline added by me)

The underlined part is what I'm confused about. In the base game, whenever you fail a skill check, you draw a Villain Advancement card and advance Dr. Lobo's track by the number on the card. You don't just advance the track by 1 space. In fact, around 50% of the Villain Advancement cards advance Dr. Lobo's track by 2.

So, are we supposed to draw a Villain Advancement card when we fail a skill check in Australia, or are we just supposed to advance Dr. Lobo's track by 1 space, without drawing a Villain Advancement card?
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Booth
United Kingdom
Bicester
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shake

Yes, that should say "Advance Dr Lobo's track by drawing a Villain card".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JASON MAXWELL
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fixed* -Jason
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.