Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another silly Search card question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Wagner
msg tools
So a hero comes across a search token in which he finds a Power Potion. Can that card be used every single turn or is it a one time use?
Also, At the end of a quest is the player allowed to keep said potion with him or is it sold automatically at the end to a vendor in Arhynn? Does the play have the ability to keep that potion or item he finds at all or would that just fall under a house rule?

Here's what the rule says:

Receive Gold from Search Cards: Record the total gold value of
every Search card the heroes acquired over the course of this quest
on the Campaign sheet (even if the Search card was used during the
quest). Then return all Search cards to the deck (even if the heroes
didn’t use their abilities). The heroes are assumed to sell their newly
discovered treasures in Arhynn.

Thanks in advance for answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manary Corte
Brazil
São Paulo
São Paulo
flag msg tools
Best game of all time...
badge
...Twilight Imperium 3!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The items are one-time use only in the quest in which they were found.

After the quest, all the items are converted to money and sent back to the search deck. The heroes keep only the coins, and the amount is written somewhere to be spent later on, on a shopping phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Evans
United States
stroudsburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe its a one time use and its gone. If it doesn't get used, it can be sold for the gold value on the card at the end of the scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Burke
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hopefully this will clarify for you.

Search cards are one time use items. Once you use them, you flip them over. Do not discard them unless the card tells you to as the Treasure Hunter can get bonuses based on the how many he has in front of him. At the end of each quest (not encounter), you shuffle all search cards back into the deck and add the gold listed on each card you searched to your gold log.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
caric wrote:
I believe its a one time use and its gone. If it doesn't get used, it can be sold for the gold value on the card at the end of the scenario.


This is partially incorrect because it implies that you don't get the gold if you use the card. That is incorrect; heroes add the gold value to their bank regardless of whether a search card is used or not.

To the OP: you really wouldn't want to house rule that heroes keep items between quests. There are only twelve cards in the search deck, and if you did not replenish it, you would very quickly run out of search cards.

I suppose you could house rule that cards get returned to the deck when they are used, but it still brings up the possibility of not having enough cards in the deck to cover all of the search tokens in a given quest, or even worse, if the heroes held all ten of the usable items, they would guarantee the Treasure Chest (which is immediately discarded) after only two searches, every quest.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.