Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Kaivai» Forums » Rules

Subject: Influence tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daan haeyen
Netherlands
Amersfoort
-
flag msg tools
Hi, first time we played this game today. Overall a positive experience. But it seemed you got waaay to few influence tokens, so we had to sacrifice every second turn.... Did we misread something somewhere?

Thanks, Daan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
No, you simply spent influence too quickly. Influence is hard to get. Recognise that and play appropriately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
daanh wrote:
Hi, first time we played this game today. Overall a positive experience. But it seemed you got waaay to few influence tokens, so we had to sacrifice every second turn.... Did we misread something somewhere?

Thanks, Daan


Hard to say. And I only know the first edition rules. But for those, you get:

1. 3 at game start.
2. 2 whenever you pass for an entire game turn.
3. One for each "influence" hut on the island with the fishing god. This comes when the fishing god is moved at the start of the turn for any huts already there or when the hut is built if one is built on the island where the fishing god is.

But it is likely that JC is right: there isn't much and they are precious.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daan haeyen
Netherlands
Amersfoort
-
flag msg tools
clearclaw wrote:
No, you simply spent influence too quickly. Influence is hard to get. Recognise that and play appropriately.


But you have to spend at least one token to do an action, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jbrier
United States
Aventura
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daanh wrote:
clearclaw wrote:
No, you simply spent influence too quickly. Influence is hard to get. Recognise that and play appropriately.


But you have to spend at least one token to do an action, correct?


Not necessarily. In a round, the first time a given action is chosen it costs 0 influence. The second time that action costs 1, the third time 2, the fourth time 4...

So perhaps your problem is that you were playing this rule wrong?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
If nobody has taken that action yet in this round, then no, you do not need to pay. Instead the first influence paid for each action is paid from the supply. Only later players using that action pay their influence to be a later player taking the action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daan haeyen
Netherlands
Amersfoort
-
flag msg tools
Okay, then that is the culprit! We played it wrong.

Thanks, Daan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.