Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Betrayal at House on the Hill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Basement Landing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glenn Darrin
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just played for the first time. Can someone be so kind as to clarify when you can first explore the basement?

Do you have to wait for a tile on the ground or upper floors, such as the coal chute or collapsed floor, that would send you to the basement?

The rules say you cannot use the stairs from the basement landing to get to the foyer until you find that room and this has me thrown for a bit of a loop.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Brakmann
Germany
Oberhausen
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you have to wait for a tile (or a card) to send you to the basement.

After that, you can start looking for a way back up...
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Darrin
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very good. Thank you for the reply. We were just second guessing ourselves when playing because of having to discard all those basement tiles when exploring. We didn't actually get a tile to get us into the basement (collapsed floor) until we hit the bottom of the tile stack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Brakmann
Germany
Oberhausen
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Also notice that you can use the mystic elevator to get to the basement. And the underground lake will also put you into the basement (according to the official FAQ; see also http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs/hoth regarding the underground lake), as does the coal chute. Normally, it shouldn't take too long for the first explorer to get there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nico
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
But I don’t want to go among mad people
badge
Oh, you can’t help that, we’re all mad here.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Darazel wrote:
And the underground lake will also put you into the basement (according to the official FAQ; see also http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs/hoth regarding the underground lake), as does the coal chute.


Only in the first edition of the game because of the printing error on the underground lake. The FAQ is also only for the first edition and already incorporated in the second edition (green box).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis Brakmann
Germany
Oberhausen
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Oi. I did not know that (owning the first edition and never bothering much with the second one).

Thanks for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.