In my latest beta of the unofficial expansion I introduced an optional rule for Subterfuge. Just wanted to lift it out into a single thread so it can be discussed.
This optional rule further adds to the intrigue and usage of emissaries. Emissaries can now be used to prevent opponents from gaining bonuses from their emissaries when attempting an intrigue contest.
When performing an intrigue contest roll, you roll 1 contest die, plus 1 for each adjacent province that is either friendly or contains a friendly emissary, unless the province is neutral and also contains an enemy emissary. This reflects the way that the two emissaries try to sway the neutral province in their favor, so no bonuses are given for the roll.
The value of the Cobra Crown becomes really apparent with this optional rule.
Stygia attempts an intrigue contest in Western Shem, where there is one stygian emissary. There are also stygian emissaries in Central Shem and Koth. Western Shem is also adjacent to a friendly province: Stygia. This would bring up the number of contest dice to 1 (emissary in target province) + 2 (friendly emissaries in Central Shem and Koth) + 1 (friendly adjacent province, Stygia) = 4. But… Aquilonia has an emissary in Koth as well. Using the Subterfuge rule, this emissary will cancel the bonus of the friendly Stygian emissary in Koth, removing one die from the total, bringing it down to 3 contest dice in total. The Stygia player rolls 3 dice and speaks a silent prayer to Set…