Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Dog Fight: Starship Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Visibility vs Range - same thing? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven F
United States
wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Basic question

Inferno is adjacent to "1" planet, Tavor is 2 hexes away adjacent to planet on the opposite side, therefore visibility between ships is 1.

Inferno is priority player. He pays 1 energy counter to activate Inferno's ability to increase its range by 1.

Inferno's first tier card is attack.

Question:
Tavor is in range but not visible. Can a successful attack be made?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charleston James
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Short answer: no.

The Range of the Inferno was not increased from 1 to 2, it was increased from 6 to 7. If you fired in a different direction with no obstructions blocking visibility the Inferno could hit something 7 spaces away.

Increasing Range doesn't alter visibility or obstruction rules. If the target was STEALTHed increasing Range wouldn't help any more than the target being blocked by a planet.

Not sure if this makes it any more clear:
http://dogfighttcg.blogspot.com/2013/08/ignoring-limitations...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.