Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Rialto» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another building question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dean Rekich
United States
Lyndora
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that if I am allowed to take a building of a value greater than 4, that first I take a building of value 4. I realize I then get to take *another* building tile. What confuses me is the phrase, "with a value equal to or lower than the difference." My question is the difference compared to what? If someone could explain this to me, hopefully using an example, I would be very grateful. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bartosz Popow
Poland
Gdynia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you somehow managed to acquire 6 building points, you buy a building that costs 4. The difference (6-4) is 2, so you can then buy another building costing up to 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Northampton
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
louper wrote:
BartP wrote:
...you buy a building that costs 4...


At the risk of introducing confusion, that's not quite right. You spend 4 building points to buy a building that costs UP TO 4 - regardless of the cost of the actual building, though, you have to spend 4 building points.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12385345#12385345

So with 6, you can take 1 building of cost 4 or less and 1 building of cost 2 or less.


This. You must spend 4 on your first building regardless of what you get and then you can spend your remaining on your second building, which can cost less than what you have to spend.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well put, both of the above posters.

When teaching, I also try to point out that if you have 6 building points to spend, you can NOT get a 3 building and another 3 building.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Erhardt
United States
New Baltimore
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone point me to the page that has this rule? Because the only reference I could find was on page 5, under "Building", that state; "Each player may choose a building (singular) with a value equal to or lower than the number of cards played." So I just assumed any excess building points were lost.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Northampton
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkE13 wrote:
Can someone point me to the page that has this rule? Because the only reference I could find was on page 5, under "Building", that state; "Each player may choose a building (singular) with a value equal to or lower than the number of cards played." So I just assumed any excess building points were lost.

Thanks!

Look on page 8 at "The Buildings" section. At the top under "Special Cases".


Rules wrote:
Special cases:
■ If a player is allowed to take a building of a value greater than 4, he takes a building of value 4 first, then another one with a value equal to or lower than the difference.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Erhardt
United States
New Baltimore
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ohhh, ok got it. Thanks a lot!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Sprite
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have 6 money can you get one 3 building then one 2 building? This like you down graded a 4 building. I can't see myself doing it, but I like to know and can see one of my regular gamers asking me this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Bronswijk
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MrSprite wrote:
If you have 6 money can you get one 3 building then one 2 building? This like you down graded a 4 building. I can't see myself doing it, but I like to know and can see one of my regular gamers asking me this.

Please note, it is not "money" needed for buildings, but building cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.