Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pandemic: In the Lab» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pilot + Special Orders Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eustacio O
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

My wife and I were wondering what the rule is regarding Special Orders played on the Pilot's turn. The card reads:

"During this turn, the current player may move one other player's pawn (with permission) as if it were his own."

Would the pawn get the Pilot's special movement ability, as it is moved "as his own", or would they move normally?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
From the ITL rules, page 8, Pilot: "When moved by the Dispatcher or the Event Special Orders, the Pilot may not fly and instead uses the normal movement actions."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eustacio O
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response. I think I phrased my question poorly though, so let me rephrase.

Scenario: Medic and Pilot, 2 player game.

Pilot's turn: Plays Special Orders, proceeds to move the Medic.

Does the Medic get to fly, since the Pilot would normally move by flight, or does the Medic use his normal movement actions?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Eustacio wrote:
Pilot's turn: Plays Special Orders, proceeds to move the Medic.

Does the Medic get to fly, since the Pilot would normally move by [flying]?

Yes, per the standard rules for moving another pawn: the movement *powers* of the character moving the other pawn affects the moves that can be done (while any movement *effects* -- such as the Containment Specialist's or Medic's removal of disease cubes -- of the pawn being moved still occur).

Note this means that the Pilot's movement restrictions also apply -- the Medic cannot be moved by a Direct, Charter, or Shuttle Flight while being moved by the Pilot player with Special Orders.

The Medic could take a passenger along while being moved in this fashion.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Fikes
United States
Abilene
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tom Lehmann wrote:
Eustacio wrote:
Pilot's turn: Plays Special Orders, proceeds to move the Medic.

Does the Medic get to fly, since the Pilot would normally move by [flying]?

Yes, per the standard rules for moving another pawn: the movement *powers* of the character moving the other pawn affects the moves that can be done (while any movement *effects* -- such as the Containment Specialist's or Medic's removal of disease cubes -- of the pawn being moved still occur).

Note this means that the Pilot's movement restrictions also apply -- the Medic cannot be moved by a Direct, Charter, or Shuttle Flight while being moved by the Pilot player with Special Orders.

The Medic could take a passenger along while being moved in this fashion.


Holy crap, that's amazing. Not only does the Pilot magically gain the ability to move from Atlanta to Chennai when a Dispatcher or Special Orders user discards Atlanta or Chennai, or when both cities have research stations, but all roles magically gain the ability to move from Atlanta to London for one action and to take a passenger there when a Pilot with Special Orders moves them? This moving a pawn "as if it were your own" thing has gotten really complex and wonderful with the expansions.

On an unrelated note, I just realized that the "with permission" clause of the actions which move other players is now a huge necessity for the Team Game. I've stopped playing introductory games of Pandemic on vanilla Introductory, preferring to add a fifth Epidemic or the Virulent Strain to such games, ever since the infamous "disgruntled Dispatcher" game where, in an effort to make the game actually dangerous, the veteran Dispatcher moved everyone where they didn't need to be. (This obviously wouldn't have happened if we'd enforced the "with permission" clause.) Imagine how much worse it would be to have a disgruntled Dispatcher in a Team Game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eustacio O
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A belated thank you for the answer!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Beri
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
From what I understand, with SO:
- your own movement abilities/restrictions apply (not your own special abilities)
- the moved character's special abilities apply (not their movement abilities/restrictions).

Right?

So a Medic could move a Pilot via a direct flight, but the Pilot would not auto-treat disease cubes of a cured disease?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.