Thumb up
1 Posts

Bruges» Forums » Reviews

Subject: A brief review by a fairly new board gamer (reveiw sans mechanics) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard Heart

msg tools
I am fairly new to board gaming having started only a few months ago and have played a little more than a dozen games so far. With that, I had the opportunity to play Bruges.

I'm going to skip over the mechanics of the game and give my thoughts about what I liked and what I didn't. In our game, we were all new to this game, though half the group (4 players) were fairly experienced in board games and even this designer in particular. I felt a little intimated by the number of things going on, but it didn't take long (I think 2 or 3 rounds) before everyone figured out core mechanics and could devise their initial strategy.

The Good

I'm not normally a fan of euro games, but I liked this game. I enjoyed the fact that it doesn't have a secret object. I dislike secret objectives as they can punish beginners by not knowing what objectives exist so they take actions to block suspected players with them. I also like that it has a high luck factor with the dice rolls and card draws. Although, in the game I played, I won largely by placing a great personality (the biologist) in a house early on. It even has a push your luck part on eliminating threat tokens this turn or next. I spent much of the game with the looming threat of losing my workers being 2/3s the way from disaster. And while I thought the number of different ways to accumulate victory points was good, I found it best to give up on a source of VPs (in my case building canals) if there is too much competition for them and/or you fall behind the pack. I ended the game without a single canal built. I do think the art for the board and the cards with pretty good. The components serve the game well.

The Bad