Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic: On the Brink» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you fly to where you are? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grant Fikes
United States
Abilene
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the base game, discarding a card to fly to where you already are is never better than passing, but there are some peculiar uses when you have an Archivist. Since you can only discard cards when an action or a hand limit requires you to, there may be valid reasons to send a card to the discard pile with an otherwise purposeless action. In particular, if the Operations Expert is allowed to discard any city card to fly to any city, including his current location, this is the equivalent of freely discarding any card he likes, once per turn. Then again, it's tough to really imagine a situation where there is absolutely no better move than to fly to where you are (as opposed to staying and letting a normal Share Knowledge happen, or going somewhere else via Charter Flight, or leaving to do something and returning via Direct Flight, or. . .).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you want to discard the card of the city you're in, you'll usually do better to build a research station there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Fikes
United States
Abilene
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
David Goldfarb wrote:
If you want to discard the card of the city you're in, you'll usually do better to build a research station there.


This is true, although if all 6 Research Stations are on the board and somehow you desperately need all of them, then things get muddy.

Like I said, I found myself having a harder time imagining when this maneuver could possibly be the best move the more I got into details. However, a move doesn't have to be optimal to be legal; it's legal in Pandemic: In the Lab to make a Lab move with the growth dish that loses the game by exceeding the supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Tyree
United States
Dayton
Ohio (OH)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it is a legal move, but as you have pointed out, it doesn't seem to be a very good move. I second the suggestion for an additional research station as a better move, but I suppose there may be times when that might not be an attractive option.

Reading the wording, I don't see a requirement that makes you go to another city with direct or charter flights. Drive/ferry obviously says go to a connected adjacent city and shuttle flight says another city with a station, but direct flight says the city on the card & charter flight says any city. I suppose in game terms you're taking an action loss as a penalty for sight-seeing while the world is ravaged?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Yes, a player can do a direct or charter flight to their own city. This counts are both "leaving" and "entering" a city (for the VS effect Government Interference and the Containment Specialist).

It mostly matters for the Containment Specialist. If he is trying to get that city card into the discard pile (for the Archivist or Re-examined Research) and there are more than 2 cubes of a color present, then he can both remove a cube and discard that card by doing a flight. This is more efficient than building a second research station (except possibly in Bio-Terrorist games where Sabotage can be a consideration). It can also matter for the CS and the ITL VS effect Resistant to Treatment.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.