Mark Sautman
United States
Evans
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 7.3.1 says that artillery may fire at a hex without any other units attacking as well but there must be a friendly unit adjacent to the enemy.

The combat result for exchange says:
The side with the lower total combat strength flips all of its units to their disrupted sides and then the other side then disrupts units with a combined combat strength at least equal to the original combat strength of the lower side.

So assume an artillery unit with a combat strength 4 attacks a stronger enemy unit 2 hexes away with ranged fire and exchange is the combat result. Which of the following is correct:

1) The artillery is the weaker side, but it does not suffer any adverse affects due to rule 7.3.3. Thus if the weaker side does not suffer any damage, the stronger side does not suffer any damage either during an exchange.

2) The artillery is the weaker side and its combat strength was 4. Normally it would have suffered 4 points of damage, but it does not because it is ranged fire. However, the defender suffers 4 points of damage as part of the exchange.

My gut says 2 is the right answer, but I could not find any guidance in the rules or forums.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Shaw
United States
Kennesaw
GA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 7.3.3: Artillery units providing ranged support or firing ranged fire do not suffer any adverse effects from that combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.