Company Leader» Forums » General

Subject: Company Leader: a personal note on my first game on BGG rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick van Gompel
Netherlands
Aalst
flag msg tools
As a kid, I liked to play wargames, especially the ones that included some kind of secrecy. Me and my brother designed our own games, but the problem was that they took ages to finish. The idea of concealment has been somewhere in the back of my mind ever since.
I have been working on Company Leader since August 2011. The idea came to me that there was a way to create a double blind wargame that wasn't complex and wouldn't take a whole day to play. The use of 'blocks' with hidden troops and dummies in a different color for both players was the way to go. I did some simple playtests right way and it seemed to work. Next, I wrote some rules to test the double blind system which I could basically use for any wargame. It worked out nicely and soon I tested the game with a friend. He seemed to like it and after a few adjustments I played it more often with other friends.
After a year or so I considered to make the game freely available, so I had to get the dutch rules translated first. I made a website (http://companyleader.free-creativity.com) so other people could enjoy the game. And, hopefully Company Leader can grow from there on.

My plans for the future are to expand the game with more options. I have already worked out new troops and terrain.
I have bought some materials for games I want to give away. My idea is to make a bunch of U2U-games (User to User): a user sends the finished PnP game to another user for him to review. In turn, the new user sends it to another user after some months, so he had the time to play the game and decide whether he likes it.

By putting this game online and on BGG I hope to get some more feedback for an even better game of Company Leader. So if you have questions, suggestions or found any errors, please let me know. Many thanks!