GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,090 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
18 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
154 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 

BattleCON: Devastation of Indines» Forums » Play By Forum

Subject: Kaitlyn (dorktron2000) vs. Kajia (Phyr) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Set Up

OVOOOSO

V is Kaitlyn
S is Kajia

Kaitlyn- (20 Life)
Discard 1: Axiomatic Burst
Discard 2: Mobius Drive

Finisher: Divide by Zero



Kajia- (20 Life)
Discard 1: Swarming Burst
Discard 2: Stinging Mandibles

Finisher: Imago Emergence



Ok, go ahead and send me your starting discards and finisher!

Send me your first attacks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, just to be sure I'm understanding Kaitlyn's UA correctly, if there is a wormhole between her and Kajia like so:

ooS_Kooo

S = Kajia
K = Kaitlyn
_ = wormhole marker

Then in order for Kajia to hit Kaitlyn, she would need a range of at least 3 and, for Kajia to move through the wormhole and past Kaitlyn, Kajia would need to have movement 3.

I want to be sure I understand this before I submit my discards and ODF.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
That is correct. Keep also in mind that Kaitlyn may selectively ignore wormhole markers.
If I read the Kaitlyn UA correctly then this does not includes movements where she gets moved. So if Kajia pulls Kaitlyn with Parasitic and there are Wormhole Markers between them then the markers have to be removed when Kaitlyn would enter their spaces.

This seems to be of the same quality of the "cannot move" and "cannot be moved" discussion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, thats correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alright, I will send in discards and ODF later today.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xavier Raabe
United States
flag msg tools
Ooh, the rematch. Both of them got their power level tuned down since Trey and I did this (I think it was him, at least ), so it'll be cool to see how it plays out this time.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:

This seems to be of the same quality of the "cannot move" and "cannot be moved" discussion.


Yeah, I wish we would get a final ruling on this "would move" and "would be moved" issue.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, send me your first attacks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Beat 1 sent in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beat 1 (final)

OOOOVOS

V is Kaitlyn
S is Kajia
Underline is a wormhole


Kaitlyn-

Paradox Strike

Range: 1-3
Power: 4
Priority: 2

Stun Guard 5

Whenever an opponent would retreat, he advances instead. Whenever an opponent would advance, he retreats instead. (Other kinds of movement are not affected)

Kajia-

Parasitic Drive

Range: 1
Power: 3
Priority: 3

Start of Beat: Pull the nearest opponent exactly 3 spaces. (If there is not enough room on the board for this movement, then ignore it.)

Before Activating: Advance 1 or 2 spaces


Kaitlyn- (20 Life)
Discard 1: Paradox Strike
Discard 2: Axiomatic Burst

Finisher: Divide by Zero



Kajia- (20 - 4 (attack) = 16 Life)
Discard 1: Parasitic Drive
Discard 2: Swarming Burst

Finisher: Imago Emergence




Kajia wins priority!

Start of Beat she pulls Kaitlyn 3 spaces.

Kajia retreats into the wall due to Paradox!

Kajia misses!

Kaitlyn hits Kajia for 4 damage!

Where would Kaitlyn like to put a wormhole at End of Beat?


Kaitlyn places a wormhole between her and Kajia.

Time for Beat 2!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think our positions are switched. Also, do I get an Insect Counter? Pulling me 3 should not have switched sides with Kajia.

ooooVSo

Then Kajia has to retreat 1 into the corner due to Paradox.

ooooVoS

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thats what I had originally, but somehow I got it in my head that that was wrong. WHOOPS, I'll go fix it.

Anyways, since thats the case, where would Kaitlyn like to put a wormhole?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Between the two of us, please.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, time to send Beat 2 attacks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
I should have sticked to my original plan. I didn't think you would go all in with Paradox. GJ on that.

Anyway beat 2 attack pair sent in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beat 2 sent in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beat 2 (Final)

OOVOSOO

V is Kaitlyn
S is Kajia
Underline is a wormhole


Kaitlyn-

Telepresent Dash

Range: N/A
Power: N/A
Priority: 9

This attack does not hit or do damage.

On Hit: Remove any number of Wormholes within range of this attack from the board. For each one removed this way, this attack has +1 Power.

After Activating: Move 1, 2, or 3 spaces. If you moved past an opponent during this movement, that opponent cannot hit you during this beat.

End of Beat: Place a Wormhole Marker.



Kajia-

Burrowing Dash

Range: N/A
Power: N/A
Priority: 8

This attack does not hit or do damage.

Reveal: This attack has +1 Power and +1 Priority for each discard pile with Insect Counters on it.

Before Activating: Pull any number of opponents 1 space each.

After Activating: Move 1, 2, or 3 spaces. If you moved past an opponent during this movement, that opponent cannot hit you during this beat.



Kaitlyn- (20 Life)
Discard 1: Telepresent Dash
Discard 2: Paradox Strike

Finisher: Divide by Zero



Kajia- (16 Life)
Discard 1: Burrowing Dash
Discard 2: Parasitic Drive

Finisher: Imago Emergence


Kaitlyn wins priority!

Where would she like to dash to?

Kaitlyn retreats 3 spaces!

Kajia pulls Kaitlyn one space and advances 3 spaces (one is used to remove the wormhole in front of her)

End of Beat- Where would Kaitlyn like to place her two wormholes?


Kaitlyn places one beneath her using Telepresent and one between her and Kajia End of Beat.

Time for Beat 3!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
I keep getting outplayed...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:
I keep getting outplayed...


It's still early, my friend. My play gets progressively worse when I have to be at work, too.

I will retreat 3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Advance 3. The interesting part comes now. Where will you place your 2 wormholes?
Board looks like this:
ooVoSoo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A question about that: My UA says the space where I place my wormhole has to be unoccupied. But what about the EoB effect for Telepresent? It doesn't stipulate that the space has to be unoccupied. Also, can two wormholes be in the same space? They are markers so I assume so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
Good point. So far I assumed that no two wormhole markers can be in the same space. Placing the marker in an occupied space shouldn't be a problem with Telepresent.

Let's just stick to what we know: The limitation (only) applies to the EoB effect of her UA. On the other hand all wormhole markers in a space would be removed at once if a player would enter it. So that should be reason enough not to place them all in the same one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nerds call me
United States
N Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Phyr wrote:


Let's just stick to what we know: The limitation (only) applies to the EoB effect of her UA. On the other hand all wormhole markers in a space would be removed at once if a player would enter it. So that should be reason enough not to place them all in the same one.


Other than the fact that it would take an additional 2 movement to make it through a space with 2 wormholes. But yeah, they would both be eliminated if you stepped into the space but it would be like hitting a wall.

I need to think about the wormhole placement. My UA requires an unoccupied space while Telepresent does not specify so that complicates my decision here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sascha Parsa
Germany
flag msg tools
It's better
badge
if you can do without
Avatar
mbmbmb
dorktron2000 wrote:
Other than the fact that it would take an additional 2 movement to make it through a space with 2 wormholes. But yeah, they would both be eliminated if you stepped into the space but it would be like hitting a wall.
I'm not sure where you are going with that. Maybe I'm just not understanding what you are saying.
When movement is considered it does not matter how many wormholes are in the same space. They all get removed with one movement attempt into that space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trey Kester
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think there is a rule that only one marker of the same name per player is allowed in the space at a time so you couldn't double up (I found it on pg. 26 of the rulebook online), but using Telepresent to put it an occupied space makes sense to me.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [7] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.