Subject: CARBON – A Custom Tile Version rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Clarke
United Kingdom
Caithness
Scotland
flag msg tools

I have been following with interest, the various discussions on non-card versions of this fine game. So during a few spare hours one evening, I decided to attempt a custom version of my own.

My basic wish was to have a purely black and white set. My choice of components was a set of 50 black & white poker chips (hence Carbon). These chips are nicely weighted, have a dice pattern printed around the edge and a blank interior. With these chips, my set was 90% done.

I’m no artist, so the decorating needed to be very simple and quick. Without colour, I had to abandon the firework theme, and imagine 5 completely new suits. The chosen suits are Bone, Flower, Egg, Feather and Worm. I chose these suits because they are simple shapes and most importantly, they are all very distinct from each other. These shapes also happen to be products of nature, (hence Carbon again). So what might players be doing with Bone, Flower, Egg, Feather and Worm? Maybe we are delivering ingredients to a witches coven? Does this matter?

The white modelling paint was quickly applied with a brush. Once the paint had dried, I finished both sides of each tile with a spray coat of acrylic lacquer. You will see from the photos that I really am no artist, and I regret that the final results are not remotely as sharp as I’d hoped they’d be. Nevertheless, I am satisfied that the result, at least demonstrates the feasibility of what I set out to achieve. Also seen in the photo are the simple wooden racks, which haven’t yet been finished (painted black and lined with felt). The racks are obviously required to set the tiles vertically in front of the players.
(Finished Tiles and Unfinished Racks)

(Tiles: 1 Egg, 2 Worm, 3 Bone, 4 Feather, 5 Flower and tile rear)