Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dirty Laundry clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Annable
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can a runner jack out after a run is considered successful but before they access cards?

I just had someone on OCTGN very pointedly suggest to me that I was of inferior genetic stock (ahem) because I suggested that one could not, according to the rules, do that.

Can I get some clarification from the community?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot jack out after a successful run. The opportunity to jack out is BEFORE the successful run. If you want the Dirty Laundry credits, you have to access the server (assuming no ASH, bankjob, account siphon etc)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Berton
Canada
flag msg tools
A quick look at the rules shows that you're right. The last chance to jack out is at 4.1 but the run isn't considered successful until 4.3. So if you jack out before accessing cards, the run is not successful and you do not gain your Dirty Laundry credits.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Roybal
United States
Washington
flag msg tools

1. Runner starts, names server.
If there's ICE, goto 2.
If no ice, goto 4.
2. Approach outermost ICE.
2.1. Paid ability can be used
2.2. Jack out (Goto 6, cannot jack out if first piece of ICE encountered this run) or continue to 2.3.
2.3. Approached ICE can be rezzed
Paid ability can be used
cards can be rezzed.
2.4. Check if ICE is rezzed.
If rezzed, goto 3.
If unrezzed, and there's another piece of ICE, goto 2.
If unrezzed, and there's no more ICE, go to 4.
3. Runner Encounters Ice if rezzed.
3.1. Icebreakers can interact, Paid abilities can be used
3.2. Resolve all unbroken subroutines
...Either the run ends, goto 6
Or it continues, and there's another piece of ICE, goto 2.
Or it continues, and there's no more ICE, go to 4.
4. Runner approaches attacked server
4.1. Paid abilities can be used.
4.2. Runner decides:
To jack out, go to 6
or to continue, go to 4.3
4.3. Paid abilities may be used, cards may be rezzed.
4.4. Run is successful. Trigger abilities if any.
4.5. Access cards. Trigger abilities if any.
Agenda : Stolen (Unless additional cost)
Trash cost present : may be paid to trash
Everything not trashed or stolen is returned to server.
5. Run ends. Trigger abilities if any.
6. Run is unsuccessful. Trigger abilities if any.

as you can see, they can either choose to continue after passing all ice or they choose to jack out. If they continue, the run is considered successful and must access cards. For clarification, the runner would also not get the dirty laundry credits until step 5 here. so they cannot use the dirty laundry credits for trashing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Skov
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you cannot.
The run is only considered succesful if the runner decides to not jack and, and he must then access all cards in the server, if able.

From the handy dandy Timing of a Run reference:

4.2. Runner decides:
To jack out, go to 6
or to continue, go to 4.3
4.3. Paid abilities may be used, cards may be rezzed.
4.4. Run is successful. Trigger abilities if any.
4.5. Access cards. Trigger abilities if any.
Agenda : Stolen (Unless additional cost)
Trash cost present : may be paid to trash
Everything not trashed or stolen is returned to server.
5. Run ends. Trigger abilities if any.

Edit: ninja ninja ninja'd. That's what you get for spending time looking up stuff to copy paste
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Meng
msg tools
asroybal wrote:

For clarification, the runner would also not get the dirty laundry credits until step 5 here. so they cannot use the dirty laundry credits for trashing.


Doh! That's true. I wonder if I've been playing that wrong... blushsurprise
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Redston
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you get both Dirty Laundry and Bank Job credits in the same run?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
kroen wrote:
Can you get both Dirty Laundry and Bank Job credits in the same run?


I can't think of any reason why not. Bank Job is triggered when a run on a remote is successful. Dirty Laundry is triggered at the end of the run initiated by itself. So long as you used Dirty Laundry tobrun a remote successfully you can get a big pile of credits.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedraum
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely. You're not loosing you're access step, you are just replacing it with bank job. Then the run completes, then gain dirty laundry money.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elijah Kaine
msg tools
trekkienz wrote:
asroybal wrote:

For clarification, the runner would also not get the dirty laundry credits until step 5 here. so they cannot use the dirty laundry credits for trashing.


Doh! That's true. I wonder if I've been playing that wrong... blushsurprise


Is that true? Isn't Dirty Laundry a 'when successful' conditional?

Quote:
4.4 The run is considered to be SUCCESSFUL. (‘When successful’ conditionals meet their trigger conditions)

4.5 Access cards, then go to [5].
• If an AGENDA is accessed, the Runner STEALS it. If a card with a TRASH COST is accessed, the
Runner may pay its trash cost to TRASH it.
• All accessed cards not stolen or trashed are returned to the server in their previous states.


So wouldn't you get the monies at 4.4, and then be able to use them in 4.5?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
HeroSyndrome wrote:
trekkienz wrote:
asroybal wrote:

For clarification, the runner would also not get the dirty laundry credits until step 5 here. so they cannot use the dirty laundry credits for trashing.


Doh! That's true. I wonder if I've been playing that wrong... blushsurprise


Is that true? Isn't Dirty Laundry a 'when successful' conditional?

Quote:
4.4 The run is considered to be SUCCESSFUL. (‘When successful’ conditionals meet their trigger conditions)

4.5 Access cards, then go to [5].
• If an AGENDA is accessed, the Runner STEALS it. If a card with a TRASH COST is accessed, the
Runner may pay its trash cost to TRASH it.
• All accessed cards not stolen or trashed are returned to the server in their previous states.


So wouldn't you get the monies at 4.4, and then be able to use them in 4.5?


Dirty Laundry actually states gain credits after completion if successful. Not completed until it ends.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gin Teki
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
david_annable wrote:

I just had someone on OCTGN very pointedly suggest to me that I was of inferior genetic stock


He/she sounds like a male organ of copulation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elijah Kaine
msg tools
CommissarFeesh wrote:


Dirty Laundry actually states gain credits after completion if successful. Not completed until it ends.


Ah, I see. Missed that bit. Looks like that is right, and I've been playing it wrong too.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.