Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tenka» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chaining Provinces rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Paul
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you play a province, you are allowed to take one additional action.

Can you use this action to play another province, which means you get another action?

In our three player game, the eventual winner played four at once. When adding the two already in play that gave him six and a victory (we actually ruled that you only got one bonus action, but that still gave him enough to win as our armies were too small to conquer any of his territory - we had been too busy courting nobles and priests).

Despite this, it's a fun little game
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Emrich
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you use this action to play another province, which means you get another action?

Yes, definitely! But your friend didn't win (yet). The sequence of play indicates that you need the requisite number of Provinces at the START of your turn, not the end. That means your friend must withstand a round of Battles and other abuse from the rest of the players before claiming the Shogunate.

Alan Emrich
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two lessons here.

1) Don't ignore military. If he dropped four provinces that means he has almost nothing in hand - all of you could gang up on him in turn, even with small standing armies.

2) If you suspect a player is hoarding provinces, you should still attack them and make them discard those provinces from hand. You can even claim one as spoils yourself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Paul
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lessons were learned
sdiberar wrote:
1) Don't ignore military. If he dropped four provinces that means he has almost nothing in hand - all of you could gang up on him in turn, even with small standing armies.

Yeah, it was a three player game. He quietly built just military, while the two of us built Lords and Priests. Neither of us got the advantage (I think we each had four lords and three priests).

So, when we ganged up on him, his army was tough enough to withstand our combined might.

sdiberar wrote:
2) If you suspect a player is hoarding provinces, you should still attack them and make them discard those provinces from hand. You can even claim one as spoils yourself.

Being our first game, we didn't suspect much :-)

However, even if we had both won our combats, he would still have four left at the star of his turn - enough to win (I believe you only lose one province due to conquest unless the cannon is involved?)

Chaining provinces is a powerful strategy. And probably a key reason the game works better with more players. But, we all left the table wanting more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TnT! wrote:
Chaining provinces is a powerful strategy. And probably a key reason the game works better with more players.

If he already had two out and only needed four to win, he was already "close" to winning - but you wouldn't know that on your first play.

Quote:
But, we all left the table wanting more.

In a good way, I hope!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Stone
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yea, O.k. this question just came up in our first game as well. I guess it pushes the provinces onto the table, which thematically makes sense, you can't hide a whole province. What are you going to do, stick it under your coat? This would also speed the game to the point where battle is an important option. Otherwise you spend the first several rounds just getting provinces into your court. I understand you don't HAVE to do that, and building up your military first, or as well, might be especially important.

As it turns out, one of our players started with one of the regalia, and then drew one more on each of his two following turns, winning the game. Which was just as well, he needed to leave.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.