Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Duel of Ages II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on character movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Wilson
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can someone break down the rule "Can always move 1 space if cost is > speed as long as move is legal"? We are confused on this.

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If your Movement rating is 3, you can move up a slope into a swamp, even though the cost for that is 4 movement points. Because you can always move one hex if the move is not inherently illegal (across a cliff, into an obstacle or fire hex, through a cavern wall, etc.).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And it is just a single space movement you get to do, you're not allowed to use it once per round + other movement as in your last step away.

If you have say 7 movement you're not allowed to move 6 steps on plain and then move into a swamp because you where always allowed to move one step regardless.

It's only if you have say 2 movement that you can enter swamp at a cost of 3 but only do that as your movement.

Anyone can get anywhere where movement is allowed as long as they take their time to get there. (Some units are punished (as far as movement goes) in some terrain.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Wilson
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
aliquis wrote:
...It's only if you have say 2 movement that you can enter swamp at a cost of 3 but only do that as your movement.


Is this if its your ONLY first step option? or can it be a choice of many first steps options that allow you to kinda "cheat" one more movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
Do the right thing. It's usually obvious.
badge
I has a stick! A tiny green stick!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It never gets you one "more" movement, it just gets you one.

Let's say there's a character, call him Clyde. Clyde has a move of six, but has a restriction that moving into a Building hex costs him seven. If he is right next to a building hex at the start of his movement, he may enter it, since there is no rule preventing him; just insufficient movement points.

It does not matter if he has other legal moves which he has enough movement points for, he may still elect to use his entire move to enter the building.

If he has already stepped one hex to get next to the building, he may NOT enter it this turn, since that option takes up his entire move action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.