Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Hanabi» Forums » Rules

Subject: End of game question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Ball
msg tools
Just played this game and had a lot of fun with it. Did have a question on the consensus on how to play end game though.

The wording at the end of the game states "3. The game ends if a player takes the last card from the pile: each player plays one more time, including the player who picked up the last card." Key words here is "plays one more time." Since "play a card" is a specific action one can do, are players limited to that action at end game or is it meant to be interpretted as "take a turn?"

We've been playing it as the latter. The former seems like a fairly difficult variant almost in line with variant 4. All in all, great game to play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Roy
United Kingdom
Bath
GB
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Each player gets one more turn, concluding with the player who drew the last card on their previous turn.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hendee
United States
Frisco
Texas
flag msg tools
I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Whenever you become anxious or stressed, outer purpose has taken over, and you have lost sight of your inner purpose. Your state of consciousness is primary. All else is secondary.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
royboy_9 wrote:
Each player gets one more turn, concluding with the player who drew the last card on their previous turn.


It is a normal turn on which you may play a card, give a clue, or discard. You are not limited to playing a card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Xavier
Portugal
flag msg tools
I have a related question:

If at the last turn there are no note-tokens available, is one permitted to discard a card, even if he can't draw one? The rules read: "Note: you cannot draw a card in the last turn". Does this mean you can't perform the "discard card" play at the end?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you may discard (and play!) cards in the last round. All the rules are saying is that you don't draw if there aren't any cards left to draw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manuel Xavier
Portugal
flag msg tools
thanks for the clarification
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.