Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Castaways» Forums » Rules

Subject: One Big Effort rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Donald Dimitroff
United States
Beltsville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Right now I am feeling very: turbed, pirited, heveled, combobulated, and not tinguished, so don't you dare "dis" me!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The initial base camp card "One Big Effort" says that you receive three extra energy (white cubes) this turn and then receive one injury. Discard ones not used at the end of the turn.

When spending energy with your actions, can you:
A) spend the cubes first, then use the energy on you card
or
B) Must use the energy on your card, then use the cubes (extra energy).

Here is the scenario.
I currently have five energy and no injuries.
Notations: C = My color, I = Injury, W = Energy using white cubes
Here is my card:
6
C
4
3
2
1
0

I select "One Big Effort" using the white meeple.
So now here is the status of my card
I
C
4
3
2
1
0
W W W

I want to get a wood (1E), and then build the fire (6E)
==========================================
CASE A:
So I spend 1E on the wood, using one white cube.
The card is now:
I
C
4
3
2
1
0
W W

Later, I spend 6E on building the fire.
Use two white cubes and then move my color cube down four spots.
Final card:
I
5
4
3
2
C
0

==========================================
CASE B:
So I spend 1E on the wood, moving my cube down one space
The card is now:
I
5
C
3
2
1
0
W W W

Later, I spend 6E on building the fire.
Move my color cube down four spots and then use two white cubes
Final card:
I
5
4
3
2
1
C
W

Since I have a white cube left over, I must now discard it.
============================================================

Question:
What is the correct procedure for when to use the three extra white cubes? Use them first (Case A), or are you obligated to use them last (Case B)?

Comment: I want it to be case A, but since the card mentions losing unused cubes, it sort of implies case B.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure it's A. I think the only reason it says to discard them is to confirm that you can't save them to the next round.

Until we have official FAQ that's the best assumption I believe.

It seems to be a desperate way to get more energy to do things like build fire. Help sign etc.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Lewis
United States
McKinney
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
jedimusic wrote:
Pretty sure it's A. I think the only reason it says to discard them is to confirm that you can't save them to the next round.

Until we have official FAQ that's the best assumption I believe.

It seems to be a desperate way to get more energy to do things like build fire. Help sign etc.


I have found in solo games with one character, using this camp card when you have at least one shelter built is a solid way to build the bonfire or help sign.

Also, I have been playing it like 'A'.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom C.
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with A. There is no restrictions on the card, other than losing unused cubes. This seems to have been specifically created for the wood scenario the other posters mentioned. We have used it to increase the odds of 1 player lighting the camp fire, since only 1 can try. Getting it lit early is important, and those extra energies help a lot. But however you use it, we have always used those cubes first before touching energy on our card. It might seem strong, but remember you're taking an injury to use the extras, so it is in fact balanced.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.