I think I've been a dummy all this time and have been playing wrong. Is it true that when you use an action to place influence on the board, all the cubes you place with that action have to go on a single tech in the era you're in? They can't be spread amongst the different techs in that era?
I am feeling quite dumb!
I don't have the rules in front of me, but I believe the correct answer is that one influence action allows you to put as many cubes as you want on one and only one technology in the time frame you're in.
Correct. It's 1 action per Technology card to place as many influence cubes on that particular Technology as desired.