Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Supreme Commander» Forums » Rules

Subject: Airborne rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Stearns
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This got buried in another thread.

In most Strategic ETO games, using an airborne unit (air drop) in a combat cancels the effect of hex-side terrain (i.e. river or strait). There is no mention of this effect in TSC rules. Is that intentional, so that airborne drops have no effect other than adding combat factors? Seems like an expensive unit to get no terrain modifier cancel effect when used.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


It is negated; the attack is no longer only coming from across the river.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Stearns
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dan,

Is that in the rules as written? I guess I missed it.

Thanks,

Tom
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Finch
United States
Pearl River
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wondering, do flanking units negate river as well (since attack not just across river) as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

No, they do not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
suPUR DUEper
United States
Villa Hills
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gohrns wrote:
Dan,

Is that in the rules as written? I guess I missed it.

Thanks,

Tom


I didn't see it either. Assuming it is not there this is a great example of how strictly interpreting the rules as written can lead one to the wrong conclusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.