Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Liberté» Forums » Rules

Subject: Control Tokens Battle Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Maurer
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Had a situation come up last night in our Liberte game. Three players had control tokens in the battle display.

Player 1: 4 control tokens
Player 2: 3 control tokens
Player 3: 2 control tokens

During the battle phase, Player 1 and 2 had no general while Player 3 had a general in personal display. According to my reading of the rules, player 1 won the right to lead the Revolutionary army, but because he did not have a general, he effectively lost.

Of course, the players didn't like this ruling and the wording in the rulebook was a little vague. I hope someone in the forum could help me clarify.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maciek Obszanski
Poland
flag msg tools
Black!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Player 3 won. You must have general to lead the Revolutionary army

This is my interpretation of this rule, maybe i always play wrong whistle
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Soledade
Portugal
Leiria
Leiria
flag msg tools
designer
WYG Developer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In your example, player 3 won.


For a player to win the battle box he must have a general in his display. Only players with a general in the display and tokens in the battle box are allowed to get the VP. A player can have 10 tokens in the battle box and another player only 1. If the latest doesn't have at least one general in the display he is not allowed to win.

If both are allowed to win (both have tokens and generals in the display) then you see who's the one with the most tokens in the Battle Box. If there's a tie in tokens, then you see who's the player who has the general with more strength. Even if one player has more than one general, you chose only one (the highest) to break the tie. If both players have the same kind of general, then you proceed to see if one player has more generals. If only one does, then you have a winner. If both have a second general you must see again the strength of each one and see if there's a winner. If there's still a tie, then you go for a possible third general and so on. If you cannot break the tie, then the battle is not won by any player and a royalist block is added in the VP zone for that battle meaning that you now have another Royalist area counting towards the Counter Revolution. In theory you will now only need to have 6 controlled CR regions by the royalists in order to have a counter revolution and a sudden game end.

Note that if the royalist block is added in the battle area the game can end immediately because a CR may have happened (7 CR regions controlled by the royalists)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dave
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, player 3 wins as he is the only one with a general and battle tokens.

Soledade wrote:
In your example, player 3 won.


For a player to win the battle box he must have a general in his display. Only players with a general in the display and tokens in the battle box are allowed to get the VP. A player can have 10 tokens in the battle box and another player only 1. If the latest doesn't have at least one general in the display he is not allowed to win.

If both are allowed to win (both have tokens and generals in the display) then you see who's the one with the most tokens in the Battle Box. If there's a tie in tokens, then you see who's the player who has the general with more strength. Even if one player has more than one general, you chose only one (the highest) to break the tie. If both players have the same kind of general, then you proceed to see if one player has more generals. If only one does, then you have a winner. If both have a second general you must see again the strength of each one and see if there's a winner. If there's still a tie, then you go for a possible third general and so on. If you cannot break the tie, then the battle is not won by any player and a royalist block is added in the VP zone for that battle meaning that you now have another Royalist area counting towards the Counter Revolution. In theory you will now only need to have 6 controlled CR regions by the royalists in order to have a counter revolution and a sudden game end.

Note that if the royalist block is added in the battle area the game can end immediately because a CR may have happened (7 CR regions controlled by the royalists)


Note: if the tokens are tied, players have to put forth a general as the tie-breaker with high general winning (and there's only 1 round). These generals are then discarded. Just because someone has a higher general, doesn't mean he will win the tie-break if he chooses to not put it forward as he wants to save it for later rounds.


Quote:

In the second and subsequent turns there will be a battle. The player who leads the Revolutionary army in this battle will gain victory points. The player who has the most control tokens in the Battle Box AND has at least one General card in his Personal Display will lead the army and win the VPs. A General card is distinguished by its silhouette, (see the Player Aid Card). Directly underneath the present turn space is a box with the name of a battle in it. The number in the box is the number of VPs earned by the victorious player.

Note that a player with a General on display may win the VPs even if he has less tokens in the box than another player but that other player does not have a General card on display.

If there is a tie for the number of tokens in the box then in play order each player may advance one General card from his Personal Display. The player who advances the highest value General, (i.e. card with the most blocks on it), wins the VPs. Any advanced cards are discarded.

If there is still a tie then nobody leads the battle and the battle is lost. If this happens then take a white faction block and place it in the box with the named battle that was just fought. If there is no white block available then remember to place one after the election has been resolved and blocks have become available.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.