Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Duel of Ages II» Forums » Rules

Subject: What if Lianka switches sides before she can use her power? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Mitchell
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The controller of Lianka the Gazer gets to secretly write down the name of an enemy character with an Honor of six or less at the beginning of the game. If Lianka ends a melee round in a space with that character and no one else, he switches sides.

What happens, however, if Lianka HERSELF switches sides before she has a chance to use this power? Does her new controller get to write down the name of a character from her old team with less than seven honor? Or is this power simply lost to her if she switches sides before using it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you just apply the power literally as written. Once that name is written down, if Lianka is ever in the space alone with that designated character, and the character is Lianka's enemy, then the character switches sides to join Lianka's team.

In practice, that means the power is almost irrelevant, after Lianka switches sides. It would only ever come into play if Lianka switches back again, or if her target switches sides (and, in the latter case, Lianka's new controlling player wouldn't know which character to target, although the situation could still happen, and the player who originally wrote the name would be duty-bound to announce the event).

There's no reason for new rules like, "When Lianka switches sides, then her new controlling player gets to choose a new character." Things that happen once in the game, just happen once in the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, now that I look at it, there's nothing that says that the side-switching can only happen once. So, if Lianka targets Fred, and during the game Lianka causes Fred to switch sides, and then later Lianka switches sides, there is then the potential that if Lianka finds Fred alone again, Lianka could side-switch Fred, again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett Murrell
United States
Boise
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
She would not be able to write down a new character. The old choice remains in effect, if somehow the character reverts back to the old team.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.