'Arctica' Gary
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any help / direction appreciated:

1) Does the lap count take place before or after the action Phase has begun?
-- IE: Do the cards you play to meet the lap count take away from your playable actions in the action phase, or just the size of hand you have to pull your actions from:
---- IE: On Short Track, 5 Actions are playable. Lap Count = 15. Red player uses a 15 to meet lap, now has 8 cards in hand. Blue player uses a 12+3 to meet lap count, now has 7 cards in hand.
--------- Does Red have 5 actions left or 4? Does Blue have 5 actions left or 3?


2) While I think it says it later in the rules, there is a paragraph right away under "Track Phase" that says all players must meet the lap count. It says this multiple times without ever, immediately in this section, describing what happens if you don't make lap count, or where to go to find this out. I eventually read somewhere else that it means out of gas.

3) Playing a Draft to meet Lap Count: The official game rules seem to imply that playing a "DRAFT" Card to meet lap count results in that player forgoing their "Action Phase" for that round. However, the "Summary Card" posted for download here does not indicate this. Clarification requested

4) What happens to the gap *behind* cars when "Pass to fill gap" is used?

Normally this is the example given; Car 3 Passes Car 2 Uncontested and fills the gap:
:: Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6
>> Car1-Car3-Car2-Car4-Car5-Car6

However, what if there is a Gap behind Car #3?
:: Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-GAP-Car4-Car5-Car6
-- I assume Car3 still passes Car2 cooperatively to fill the gap behind Car1, but how many GAP's remain between Car2 and Car 4 after the pass is made? 2? 1? 0?


5) What happens when a "Pull Away" card is used, and the "Car" behind is the "Slow Traffic" Card?

:: Car1-SLOW-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6
Car 1 Plays Pull away. Does it pull away from the Slow Traffic Card, or does it automatically draft with it, giving Car 2, and all subsequent Cars, the chance to hang with the draft as well?

6) Do you still have to make the lap count if you are 'high in turn'? (it says you can't play any action/response cards when high in turn, and any card played to make lap count would be one of these cards)
- So do you...
A) play card(s) to make the lap count, but don't participate in the Action Phase
B) Forced to play no card due to the rule, and run out of gas due to not making lap count suffering further consequence
C) Play no cards but suffer no additional consequences (Basically an instant lose a turn for the recipient of a card, and free pass opportunity for other players)


Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcelo Paschoalin
Brazil
Santo André
SP
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3wgames wrote:
1) Does the lap count take place before or after the action Phase has begun?
-- IE: Do the cards you play to meet the lap count take away from your playable actions in the action phase, or just the size of hand you have to pull your actions from:
---- IE: On Short Track, 5 Actions are playable. Lap Count = 15. Red player uses a 15 to meet lap, now has 8 cards in hand. Blue player uses a 12+3 to meet lap count, now has 7 cards in hand.
--------- Does Red have 5 actions left or 4? Does Blue have 5 actions left or 3?

The Lap Count takes place before the Action phase.
In your example, Red has 4 actions left and Blue has 3.

3wgames wrote:
2) While I think it says it later in the rules, there is a paragraph right away under "Track Phase" that says all players must meet the lap count. It says this multiple times without ever, immediately in this section, describing what happens if you don't make lap count, or where to go to find this out. I eventually read somewhere else that it means out of gas.

Yes, if a player doesn't make the lap count he's out of gas and out of race.

3wgames wrote:
3) Playing a Draft to meet Lap Count: The official game rules seem to imply that playing a "DRAFT" Card to meet lap count results in that player forgoing their "Action Phase" for that round. However, the "Summary Card" posted for download here does not indicate this. Clarification requested

A Draft card makes the Lap Count and "uses" all actions by the player, i.e., if you use a Draft to make the Lap Count, you have no more actions this turn.

3wgames wrote:
4) What happens to the gap *behind* cars when "Pass to fill gap" is used?

Normally this is the example given; Car 3 Passes Car 2 Uncontested and fills the gap:
:: Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6
>> Car1-Car3-Car2-Car4-Car5-Car6

However, what if there is a Gap behind Car #3?
:: Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-GAP-Car4-Car5-Car6
-- I assume Car3 still passes Car2 cooperatively to fill the gap behind Car1, but how many GAP's remain between Car2 and Car 4 after the pass is made? 2? 1? 0?

The number of gaps remain the same (in your example, there's only one gap between cars 2 and 4 after the cooperative pass).

3wgames wrote:
5) What happens when a "Pull Away" card is used, and the "Car" behind is the "Slow Traffic" Card?

:: Car1-SLOW-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6
Car 1 Plays Pull away. Does it pull away from the Slow Traffic Card, or does it automatically draft with it, giving Car 2, and all subsequent Cars, the chance to hang with the draft as well?

Slow Traffic never responds to actions, i.e. they don't challenge or block passes, nor they draft other cars.
In your example, Car 1 created a gap by pulling away from the Slow car.

3wgames wrote:
6) Do you still have to make the lap count if you are 'high in turn'? (it says you can't play any action/response cards when high in turn, and any card played to make lap count would be one of these cards)
- So do you...
A) play card(s) to make the lap count, but don't participate in the Action Phase
B) Forced to play no card due to the rule, and run out of gas due to not making lap count suffering further consequence
C) Play no cards but suffer no additional consequences (Basically an instant lose a turn for the recipient of a card, and free pass opportunity for other players)

Let's clarify the High in Turn.

The pack is in this order:

Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6

Car 3 goes High in Turn. Next card is a 24-lap green flag.

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-xxxx-Car4-Car5-Car6


xxxx represents a temporary gap created by Car 3 when he went high in turn.

All cars need to make the Lap Count (including Car 3). After that, the action phase begins.

Note: Heavy editing after this point. My fault. The correct example is two posts below.

If Car 3's turn comes, he goes back to the pack--in essence, the High in Turn had no effect.

However, if Car 4's turn comes before that, as he's directly behind Car 3, he occupies Car 3's position and the temporary gap moves, as below:

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-Car4-xxxx-Car5-Car6


Now let's say it's Car 5's turn. As he's now directly behind Car 3, he occupies Car 3's position and the temporary gap moves, as below:

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-Car4-Car5-xxxx-Car6


Finally, let's say Car 3 finally comes. Finally, let's say the turn is over. Car 3 simply moves to the gap he created and resumes his play normally, using his action phase:

Car1-GAP-Car2-Car4-Car5-Car3-Car6

I think that is it. If you have any more questions, just ask.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Arctica' Gary
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fermmoylle wrote:

The Lap Count takes place before the Action phase.
In your example, Red has 4 actions left and Blue has 3.

Hence the confusion. The lap count takes place before the action phase, however, the cards played to make the lap count, count against the number of actions you can play in the action phase.

It *is* stated in the rules this way ( I just found it) but in the sequence of play section, not in the track phase or action phase section where these steps are being described in detail.

It would not otherwise seem intuitive, since it indicates you could also play 5 3-lap cards to make the 15 laps in the example, even though the examples given arebased off a limit of 3 cards to be played in a hand, giving the impression that the "Cards to play" limit is separate from the cards you play to make lap count since the rules seem to say you can play 5 cards to meet the lap count, even though the only example given is having 3 "cards to play". I think this is further hampered by the fact the description for using DRAFT to meet lap count says "Has the effect of playing Too many cards" opposed to saying something like "Using all cards to play", again, possibly implying you could go beyond the 'cards to play' value to meet lap count


The number of Actions a player has in the action phase is equal to:
* Number of Cards to Play denoted in Track Type Table
* Reduced by number of cards played to meet Lap Count
* Modified by any Game Cards

fermmoylle wrote:

Let's clarify the High in Turn.

The pack is in this order:

Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6

Car 3 goes High in Turn. Next card is a 24-lap green flag.

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-xxxx-Car4-Car5-Car6


xxxx represents a temporary gap created by Car 3 when he went high in turn.

All cars need to make the Lap Count (including Car 3). After that, the action phase begins.

If Car 3's turn comes, he goes back to the pack--in essence, the High in Turn had no effect.


So you're saying that if Car 3 is able to put a high enough speed rating due to meet the Lap Count (24 Lap in the example) to go first in that turn, High In Turn is essentially nullified?

If so, this is very unclear in the rules which state:

Quote:
A driver high in turn cannot play any action or response cards for the rest of the turn and falls back in line after everyone has had a chance to move


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcelo Paschoalin
Brazil
Santo André
SP
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3wgames wrote:
fermmoylle wrote:

Let's clarify the High in Turn.

The pack is in this order:

Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6

Car 3 goes High in Turn. Next card is a 24-lap green flag.

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-xxxx-Car4-Car5-Car6


xxxx represents a temporary gap created by Car 3 when he went high in turn.

All cars need to make the Lap Count (including Car 3). After that, the action phase begins.

If Car 3's turn comes, he goes back to the pack--in essence, the High in Turn had no effect.


So you're saying that if Car 3 is able to put a high enough speed rating due to meet the Lap Count (24 Lap in the example) to go first in that turn, High In Turn is essentially nullified?

If so, this is very unclear in the rules which state:

Quote:
A driver high in turn cannot play any action or response cards for the rest of the turn and falls back in line after everyone has had a chance to move

Ops! My bad! I was partially wrong about the High in Turn thing. Let's do this again...

The pack is in this order:

Car1-GAP-Car2-Car3-Car4-Car5-Car6

Car 3 goes High in Turn. Next card is a 24-lap green flag.

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-xxxx-Car4-Car5-Car6


xxxx represents a temporary gap created by Car 3 when he went high in turn.

All cars need to make the Lap Count (including Car 3). After that, the action phase begins.

If a car is directly behind Car 3 during his turn, he occupies Car 3's spot and Car 3 is moved further behind.

Turn order is: Car 1, Car 6, Car 4, Car 5, Car 2. Car 3 doesn't play any actions or responses this turn.

Car 1 doesn't have anything useful to play.

Car 6 passes Car 5.

It's Car 4's turn. As he's directly behind Car 3, he occupies Car 3's position and the temporary gap moves, as below:

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car2-Car4-xxxx-Car6-Car5


Note Car 6 is not allowed to occupy Car 3's spot because it's not his turn.

Car 4 plays a Pull Away and passes Car 2 (after a Challenge, so no gaps are filled). The field now is:

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car4-Car2-GAP-xxxx-Car6-Car5


It's Car 5's turn. He passes Car 6. Now, as he's directly behind Car 3, he occupies Car 3's position and the temporary gap moves, as below:

Car3
Car1-GAP-Car4-Car2-GAP-Car5-xxxx-Car6


Finally, the turn is over. Car 3 simply moves to the gap he created:

Car1-GAP-Car4-Car2-GAP-Car5-Car3-Car6

Ok, now the example is correct. Sorry for my earlier mistake.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.