Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: card interaction question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will

Pensacola
Florida
msg tools
The Babylon Project was our last best hope for peace. It failed. In the year of the Shadow War, it became something greater, our last best hope for victory.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This involves cross faction builds, but I have a question about how a certain combination would play out. If the Federation Cheat Death & Romulan Counter Attack cards were used on the same ship, what would happen. The Counter Attack card states that it may not be used if the ship is destroyed, but does the Cheat Death override that and allow it to be used?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristoff Bergenholm
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cheat Death only triggers 'If your ship was destroyed', so by definition, Counter Attack shouldn't work.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Sanchez
United States
Clermont
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This was answered in the prelim faq recently. This combination does no twork because Counter Attack only triggers if you are not destroyed by the attack, and Cheat death only triggers if you ARE destroyed by the attack. you can't trigger them both off the same attack, even if you happen to survive thanks to cheat death.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Val Cassotta
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Depends. If you get to decide the order of activation, you could use Cheat Death, then activate the pending Counter Attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Sanchez
United States
Clermont
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andrew Parks wrote:
csimian wrote:
Cheat Death and Counter Attack

If you activated Counter Attack, your ship is destroyed, and you Cheat Death to come back, can you still Counter Attack?

My first impression is no.

Counter Attack:

Quote:
Action: *Once per turn If you ship's Shields or Hull are damaged by a ship in your forward firing arc this round, you may immediately make 1 free attack against that ship. You may not make this attack if your ship is destroyed.


You cannot do Counter Attack if your ship is destroyed.

Cheat Death:

Quote:
If your ship was just destroyed, discard this card to remove Damage Cards one at a time from your Ship Card until the amount of damage is 1 point less than your Hull Value. Flip all remaining Damage Cards face down.


Cheat Death only works if your ship was destroyed. So playing this card acknowledges your ship was destroyed, ergo no Counter Attack?


Correct. No Counter Attack in this case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Val Cassotta
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Will
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.