Konstantinos Chr
msg tools
Hallo,
we have an issue about these techs and their abilities
1.Can I use more than one times the ballistics ability to make 6 wounds IN ONE TURN. I mean..in the same turn I would like to do three attacks for example.Can I use the ballistics ability in every attack or I have to use it only one time.Have I to choose in which attack..?

2.When in attack the last player plays the last combat card,after that can we use mathematics/ballistics abilities with iron?I mean befora we count..

3.The same question with 2. with Biology. Can I use the ability since all cards have been played?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph Wolf
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No. Any resource ability may not be used more that once per turn.
2. Dificult question, this is being discussed as it has been answered a bit ambiguosly in the FAQ2.0. You may for sure use it after playing your last unit, it is not clear though if you can play it after your opponent's last unit if he has more units than you.
3. same as 2
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ca$h
Norway
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CJWF wrote:
1. No. Any resource ability may not be used more that once per turn.


Almost correct.
You can use Animal Husbandary and Biology in each battle as per the FAQ

Q: Can a player use the “Once per battle” abilities on the
Animal Husbandryand Biologytechs multiple times per
turn if he fights multiple battles?
A: Yes. Animal Husbandryand Biologycan be used multiple times
during a turn, just not more than once during a single battle.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Chr
msg tools
but ballistics iron cannot be used in multiple attacks in the same turn?

thank you very much in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph Wolf
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cash1981 wrote:
CJWF wrote:
1. No. Any resource ability may not be used more that once per turn.


Almost correct.
You can use Animal Husbandary and Biology in each battle as per the FAQ

Q: Can a player use the “Once per battle” abilities on the
Animal Husbandryand Biologytechs multiple times per
turn if he fights multiple battles?
A: Yes. Animal Husbandryand Biologycan be used multiple times
during a turn, just not more than once during a single battle.


These are not resource abilities
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Chr
msg tools
No no I didnt mean animal husbandry and biology to use multiple times in battles per turn.I know that i can use them in every battle.

My question is : if I can use them when last card has been played
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ca$h
Norway
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nightmare84 wrote:
but ballistics iron cannot be used in multiple attacks in the same turn?

thank you very much in advance


Yes. They cannot be used in multiple battles in one turn. Only once per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Chr
msg tools
how can we be sure if biology can be used after all cards be played?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christoph Wolf
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
set up a house rule
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathanaël Dufour
France
Lille
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
nightmare84 wrote:
how can we be sure if biology can be used after all cards be played?


Two contradictory statements on this have been issued by the game designers. The latest one says :

FAQ 2.0 wrote:
Battle Turns
During the “Engaging in Battle” step of combat, players
alternate taking battle turns, starting with the defender. Only the
player currently taking his battle turn can use abilities (such as
those found on tech cards or culture event cards) or play units. A
player’s battle turn consists of:
1. Opportunity to use an ability
2. Play a unit
3. Opportunity to use an ability
4. Battle turn ends

After a player plays his last unit, he does not take any more
battle turns.


Therefore, it seems that once your last unit has been played, you can heal, then if your opponent plays another unit, it is too late to heal. I guess this makes having a larger Battle Hand more important, which is probably a good thing (otherwise Stacking limit was kind of useless)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Chr
msg tools
thank you all mates

ANOTHER relevant question:

Can I use the ability of ballistics/mathematics after all players have played our cards?

I mean... my enemy has played his last card (i.e. infantry 2 strength) and I d not have any cards to play but I have an iron.Can i kill his infantry with iron (mathematics or ballistics) or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bli bla
msg tools
mbmb
nightmare84 wrote:


I mean... my enemy has played his last card (i.e. infantry 2 strength) and I d not have any cards to play but I have an iron.Can i kill his infantry with iron (mathematics or ballistics) or not?


The Faq is quite ambigous on this... Meaning actualy you can't do so...
But next Faq will at 90% bring back the old system (more fair) where you can use abilities (Healing or Iron) even if you have no units left.

-> Battle turn :
1) Opportunity to use an ability (Healing or Iron)
2) Play an Unit
3) Opportunity to use an ability (Healing or Iron)

If one player does one of these things (1, 2 or 3), then both players get another battle turn, meaning they both have the opportunity to do 1, 2 or 3.
The battle ends when both players pass their turn (when both didn't do 1, 2 or 3).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Chr
msg tools
thanks mate
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathanaël Dufour
France
Lille
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Itchi wrote:
nightmare84 wrote:


I mean... my enemy has played his last card (i.e. infantry 2 strength) and I d not have any cards to play but I have an iron.Can i kill his infantry with iron (mathematics or ballistics) or not?


The Faq is quite ambigous on this... Meaning actualy you can't do so...
But next Faq will at 90% bring back the old system (more fair) where you can use abilities (Healing or Iron) even if you have no units left.


I guesss it depends what you call "fair". I personally believe it's good that the player with the biggest Battle Hand has an advantage on the other, since it is harder to build than bonuses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maxxtonian Plus
msg tools
We ran into this scenario last night. I was attacking a city so I had to lead (our hand strength was equal at 5 cards each)

I played my last card and stated I wanted to use my IRON to spread 6 wounds across his units but he still had one card to play.

The one exposed had 4 health the one he was about to play had 5 health.

Not sure if we played this correctly as we had him lay last card and then we both used our IRON to put additional wounds on one another.

We did the math and we think no matter how we played it I still would have one battle just by a little less but I have no doubt this could come up again and want to see if the this group has come to a final consensus on whether you can wait until he plays last card or you just have to use IRON at the end of your last card. (essentially wasting a few of the 6 wounds)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.