Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
58 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Second review: or how a game doesn't resist being played too much (core set) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruno Gaia
France
Asnières
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Being a Geek is a sure sign of a sound mind, cause it means you think that life as it is is dull and should be more interesting. Which it is.
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played a lot of RFTG over the years.
I own all the expansions and I used to play it a lot with my wife until we moved to something else and I started playing on Boardgamearena, just because it was the fastest game to play there.

And on BGA you only play the core set, the base game.

Thus I don't know if what I'm about to write only applies to the base game or tothe game as a whole, but here it goes:

After hundreds of games I think, I REALLY think that a game of RFTG between two players who know the game is the equivalent of flipping a coin.

No more, no less.

Just have a look at the players stats on BGA. Even the best of all have a success rate very close to 50%. Dangerously close...

More to the point: take two players, one mediocre (around 1300 ELO) and a very good one (around 1800). If the "bad" player gets the right cards, he'll win 90% of the time. The same applies to the "good" player if he draws bad hands.

It happened to me countless times, either being the "good" player or the "bad" player.

It shouldn't happen in an adult game IMHO.

Worse, I once saw my self go down from 1850 ELO to 1400 in a few days, not playing particularly wrong, just getting bad hands after bad hands...

Even worse: some cards are "instant win" or so close to that that it hurts. Get Galactic Federation? Okay, you've won. Get New Sparta and Galactic Imperium, you're close to winning it will hurt even the best players.