Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Rules

Subject: CR and IF boxes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Ward
United Kingdom
Colchester
Essex
flag msg tools
Hi,

Can you freely move troops between the CR and IF boxes ? Both CR and IF are in play and in the same sea zone. If not, then what would the cost be ?

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If they're both "at sea" in the same sea zone, the yes, you can freely transfer troops between them.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
St. Patrick for Banish the Snakes by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is what happened historically. When the Invasion Fleet showed up in the Mid-Atlantic, Cockburn's command was essentially absorbed by the IF- the assets of the CR were added to the IF. Cockburn tagged along anyway, helping to burn Washington even though he had no official position in the command structure. He even settled a personal score- he had British troops destroy the presses of a newspaper that was particularly critical of him!

But at least he didn't mess up the command structure, like Monroe did at Bladensburg. Despite having no official position in the command structure, he proceeded to order units around, moving them into positions that were no longer mutually supporting- resulting in the "Bladensburg Races".

Kevin
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ward
United Kingdom
Colchester
Essex
flag msg tools
Many thanks for clarifying.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew MacLeod
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
And when, exactly, are we playing Churchill again?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
robwarduk wrote:
Hi,

Can you freely move troops between the CR and IF boxes ? Both CR and IF are in play and in the same sea zone.


I've done this very thing twice as the British.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
St. Patrick for Banish the Snakes by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rob Doane did this quite successfully as the British player in the AtA final at the WBC. Once he got both the IF and the CR into the game, he moved them in tandem up and down the Atlantic coast. This required two cards to move his fleets to a new sea zone- one for the IF, and another for the CR- but this allowed some nice synergy. He would shift all of his troops to the CR for a powerful Raid, then shift all of them to the IF for a strong Invasion. I had never seen this tactic used before, but it is perfectly legal in game terms and makes perfect sense as an historic simulation.

Kevin
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.