Subject: Indonesia: maybe for online play but need Inkscape help rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mario Lanza
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I have been toying with the idea of programming an online (non-commercial) boardgame for some time. The game I had in mind is Indonesia. (I asked the designers if this would be okay.) I’m a programmer of 20 years experience but this would be my first attempt at making a game.

The main deterrent is my lack of skills in the graphics department. My plan is to implement the game using scalable vector graphics (SVG, Inkscape's native tongue). I am asking for help from any experienced Inkscape users out there. The main task is to chop the board into the puzzle pieces I need to implement the game. I don't need any text or details on the map whatsoever. I am merely trying to bust it up into plain spaces probably entailing 4 layers: the continents themselves, the provinces within the continents, the regions within the provinces, and ocean spaces. Having help with this would greatly increase the chances that I bring the game to fruition.

What might be a couple weeks of effort on my part might take only hours from someone with true Inkscape/graphics experience. (I was deliberate about not posting this under the Indonesia subforum because I wanted to reach a broader audience of game enthusiasts with graphic skills.)

Thanks for your consideration.
Mario
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have negative graphical skills, so I can't help - but I would be ecstatic if you put this together. I've been thinking of doing it myself, but I'm not a programmer by trade. Out of curiosity, what type of implementation are you looking at?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mario Lanza
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb